AC Milan Reject Paris Saint-Germain's World Record Bid For Thiago Silva, Here's Football's Most Expensive Defenders (GALLERY)

Posted: Updated:
Milan signed Thiago Silva in 2009 | Getty Images

AC Milan have rejected Paris St-Germain's world record fee for a defender for Brazilian Thiago Silva.

The Qatari-owned French club made a bid of almost €46m (£37.5m) for the 27-year-old, but Milan owner Silvio Berlusconi said the Serie A side had "no intention" of selling the international.

Rio Ferdinand's £29.1m transfer to Manchester United from Leeds United in 2002 remains a world record fee for a defender.

The Qatar Investment Authority bought a 70 per cent stake in PSG last year and continue to back coach Carlo Ancelotti, who won the Champions League twice with Milan.

Should Thiago eventually make the move, he will dwarf the following top 10...

World's most expensive defenders
Share this
Current Slide

Around the Web

Berlusconi: Thiago Silva to stay at Milan

Thiago Silva to stay at Milan after rejecting Paris St-Germain

Silva staying with AC Milan as PSG break down

AC Milan favour keeping Thiago Silva over provoking star exodus