'X Factor' runner-up Nicholas McDonald has hit out judges Louis Walsh and Gary Barlow, after losing out to Sam Bailey in Sunday night's final.

The 17-year-old has criticised his mentor Louis for vocalising his support for rival Sam, and also claimed that Gary "never liked him" while competing on the show.

louis walsh nicholas mcdonald

Nicholas McDonald with mentor Louis Walsh

The Daily Mail quotes him as saying: "Gary had a problem with me throughout the whole show. He never seemed to like me and whenever I gave a good performance he would pick up on the smallest things in the world.

"I was disappointed with Louis saying, 'Vote for Sam and her single everyone.' It felt like Sam was getting all the love."

Nicholas' mum Eileen McDonald also laid into Louis, adding to the Daily Record: "I thought it was very unprofessional but Louis sometimes says things and doesn’t think about it.

"I thought, ‘What is he saying that for?’ I thought it’s like Sharon voting for Nicholas, but it doesn’t matter.

"Nicholas is still a winner. No matter what, he’s made for life."

huffpost awards

Loading Slideshow...
  • Series One, 2004

    <strong>Won by:</strong> Steve Brookstein <strong>Mentor:</strong> Simon Cowell <strong>Runner up:</strong> G4

  • Series Two, 2005

    <strong>Won by:</strong> Shayne Ward <strong>Mentor:</strong> Louis Walsh <strong>Runner up:</strong> Andy Abraham

  • Series Three, 2006

    <strong>Won by:</strong> Leona Lewis <strong>Mentor:</strong> Simon Cowell <strong>Runner up:</strong> Ray Quinn

  • Series Four, 2007

    <strong>Won by:</strong> Leon Jackson <strong>Mentor:</strong> Dannii Minogue <strong>Runner up:</strong> Rhydian Roberts

  • Series Five, 2008

    <strong>Won by:</strong> Alexandra Burke <strong>Mentor:</strong> Cheryl Cole <strong>Runner up:</strong> JLS

  • Series Six, 2009

    <strong>Won by:</strong> Joe McElderry <strong>Mentor:</strong> Cheryl Cole <strong>Runner up:</strong> Olly Murs

  • Series Seven, 2010

    <strong>Won by:</strong> Matt Cardle <strong>Mentor:</strong> Dannii Minogue <strong>Runner up:</strong> Rebecca Ferguson

  • Series Eight, 2011

    <strong>Won by:</strong> Little Mix <strong>Mentor:</strong> Tulisa <strong>Runner up:</strong> Marcus Collins

  • Series Nine, 2012

    <strong>Won by:</strong> James Arthur <strong>Mentor:</strong> Nicole Scherzinger <strong>Runner up:</strong> Jahmene Douglas

  • Series 10, 2013

    <strong>Won by:</strong> Sam Bailey <strong>Mentor:</strong> Sharon Osbourne <strong>Runner up:</strong> Nicholas McDonald


Also on HuffPost: