TECH

Facebook Virus Tricks 1,000 Brits By Promising Naked Videos Of Their Friends

10/03/2014 10:52 GMT | Updated 11/03/2014 10:59 GMT

A new type of Facebook scam has seen more than 1,000 Brits infected by viruses after attempting to see naked videos of their friends.

The scam, spotted by Bitdefender, tricked users into installing Trojan viruses.

All the fraudsters had to do, was set up the virus to replicate itself by tagging a Facebook user's friends in a message.

The message promised a "private video", "naked video" or "XXX private video" alongside their friend's name. Once clicked on, the link sent duped users to a fake YouTube page (apparently with more than 2 million views) which 'failed to load' the video.

To add another dash of realism, the video was listed as "age-restricted" due to the site's community guidelines.

Blaming a Flash Player crash, the trick goaded users to click on an update link which actually installed a virus on the computer via a file named "FlashPlayer.exe".

The malware installed a browser extension which - among other things - posted Facebook messages and stole a users photos.

The specific virus has been detected by Bitdefender as "Trojan.FakeFlash.A (Trojan.GenericKD.1571215)" - and it recommends installing virus protection software to defend against such hacks.

We might add that you should not believe random suspicious messages promising videos of your mates without their clothes on are anything other than a scam attempt. Just an idea.