12/01/2012 18:01 GMT | Updated 12/01/2012 18:41 GMT

Brit Nominations: Blur To Reform And Receive Outstanding Contribution To Music Award

Blur are to be honoured for their many successful years in the music industry with the Outstanding Contribution to Music gong at the 2012 Brit Awards.

The nineties rock band, made up of Damon Albarn, Graham Coxon, Alex James and Dave Rowntree, are also set to reform for a special Brits performance on the night.

The band first returned to the music scene in 2009 after a six-year hiatus to headline a series of festivals and now they will reform once again to close the show after they pick up the coveted award. Previous winners of the prize include Paul McCartney, U2, Queen and the Who.

The Britpop group first formed in 1989 and last won Brit Awards in 1995 for Best Band, Best Album (Parklife), and Best Single (Parklife).

READ: The Brit Award nominations in full.

Bassist Alex James recently told XFM radio station: "We're going to play, which is brilliant, it's like putting the Blues Brothers back together."

When asked about the prospect of another Blur tour, he added: "Well, let's hope - heritage year next year. (Would) be good, wouldn't it?"

Meanwhile, guitarist Graham Coxon told NME magazine: "It should be a laugh playing the old songs again."

Blur aren't the only act to receive notification of an Award at this year's Brits - Emeli Sande was also recently named the winner of the 2012 Critics' Choice award.

Other artists confirmed to perform on the night are Adele, Coldplay, Bruno Mars, Florence and the Machine, Ed Sheeran and Noel Gallagher High Flying Birds.

The Brit Awards will take place on 21st February at London's O2 Arena.

The Brit Nominations