Baileys Women's Prize For Fiction: Watch The Live Stream Here


All too often, literary prizes are dominated by men. That's why awards like the Baileys Women's Prize For Fiction are so important.

Set up in 1996, the Prize aims to redress the gender imbalance in the industry by giving female authors the recognition they deserve.

Each year, the Baileys Women's Prize For Fiction is awarded for the best novel of the year written by a woman. Any woman writing in English – whatever her nationality, country of residence, age or subject matter – is eligible.

This year, you can be among the first to find out who's won the coveted award by watching a live steam on The Huffington Post UK.

The ceremony will be available to watch via the video above from 6.45pm on Wednesday 3 June.

Judges (L-R): Laura Bates, writer and founder of The Everyday Sexism Project, Cathy Newman, presenter at Channel 4 News, Shami Chakrabarti, (Chair), director at Liberty, Helen Dunmore, novelist, poet and winner of the inaugural Orange Prize for Fiction, and Grace Dent, columnist and broadcaster

This year’s shortlisted nominees include five previously shortlisted authors and one debut novelist:

Kamila Shamsie - A God in Every Stone

Laline Paull - The Bees

Anne Tyler - A Spool of Blue Thread

Sarah Waters - The Paying Guests

Rachel Cusk - Outline

Ali Smith - How To Be Both

The winner will receive an anonymously endowed cheque for £30,000 and a limited edition bronze figurine known as a ‘Bessie’, created and donated by the artist Grizel Niven.

Find out more about the nominated novels by scrolling through the slideshow below:

Kamila Shamsie - A God in Every Stone

Baileys Women's Prize For Fiction

Before You Go