11/08/2016 22:53 BST | Updated 11/08/2016 23:23 BST

Rio Olympics 2016: Team GB Wins Track Cycling Men's Team Sprint


ODD ANDERSEN via Getty Images
Britain's Jason Kenny gives a thumbs up as he celebrates after winning gold in the men's Team Sprint track cycling finals at the Velodrome during the Rio 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro.

Team GB has defended its Olympic title by winning the track cycling men’s team sprint in Rio.

Jason Kenny claimed his fourth gold medal as he teamed up with Phil Hindes and Callum Skinner.

Victor R. Caivano/AP
Philip Hindes of Great Britain celebrates after winning gold in the men's team sprint finals at the Rio Olympic Velodrome.

Winning Great Britain’s third successive Olympic gold in the men’s team sprint on Wednesday, Britain’s three-man, three-lap team sprint squad have a habit of peaking every four years.

Britain have not won a world title in the discipline since 2005, but have now won gold at the 2008, 2012 and now 2016 Olympics.

The British trio clocked 42.440 seconds, an Olympic record, to claim gold, just five months after finishing sixth in the world at the Track World Championships in London.

New Zealand’s Ethan Mitchell, Sam Webster and Ed Dawkins, the world champions, had to settle for silver in 42.542secs, just 0.102 behind. Bronze went to France in 43.143.

The performance of the team sprint squad was something of a surprise.

They came from nowhere to triumph four years ago in London, as Sir Chris Hoy claimed the fifth of his six Olympic golds, and repeated the trick in Rio after finishing a lowly sixth at March’s Track World Championships in the English capital.

Hindes, Kenny – champions with Hoy four years ago – and Skinner set an Olympic record in qualifying, but the standard was overtaken by New Zealand, who finished their first round in 42.535.

However, the British trio won the duel for gold. Hindes was narrowly behind after his lap, but Kenny pushed the team in front and Skinner held on.

One event, one gold medal for the nation which won seven out of 10 track titles in Beijing and London.

It was the day’s only medal event, but there was further good news for Britain as Sir Bradley Wiggins, Ed Clancy, Steven Burke and Owain Doull qualified fastest in the four-man, four-kilometres team pursuit.

They finished in 3:51.943. The world record, set in winning gold at London 2012, is 3:51.659.

The first round and final take place on Friday’s second day of action, where Wiggins is sure to be the focus. He had a dispute with commissaires on Thursday ahead of the qualification ride, when officials summoned him to measure his height.

In the corresponding women’s event, which resumes and concludes on Saturday, Laura Trott, Joanna Rowsell Shand, Elinor Barker and Katie Archibald advanced in a world record time, clocking 4:13.260.