PRESS ASSOCIATION -- Facebook has unveiled major changes to its privacy settings so users can determine what is shown on their profile pages more easily.
Items posted online will now have their own unique sharing settings on the user's profile page, rather than in a separate settings page, so they can choose who can see each individual post.
Facebook users will also be able to approve posts they are 'tagged' in before the item appears on their profile. With the Pending Posts feature, when users are tagged in a photograph, video or comment they will also have the option to confirm or remove their identity before it appears on their page.
Facebook said the ability to approve tags was the number one request from users.
The user will also be able to remove tags, ask the person who tagged you to remove it, or block the tagger.
In other changes, users will be able to tag anyone, not just Facebook friends, but the other person can choose not to accept the tagged post on their profile
Geographic locations can also be added in all versions of Facebook, not just mobile phone application, on an opt-in basis.
Users will also be able to see how others view their profile and change who can see their status updates after they have posted them.
People will be prompted to take a tour walking them through these new features from their homepage.
In a blog post Facebook said: "Taken together, we hope these new tools make it easier to share with exactly who you want, and that the resulting experience is a lot clearer and a lot more fun."
More:Facebook Settings Facebook Privacy Facebook-tagging-pictures-facebook-tagging-privacy Facebook UK Technology
Suggested For You
SUBSCRIBE AND FOLLOW
Get top stories and blog posts emailed to me each day. Newsletters may offer personalized content or advertisements.Learn more