England-Australia 2013 Ashes Test Series Dates Announced

Posted: Updated:
Pietersen kisses the urn after England win in Sydney in 2011 | PA

The England Cricket Board have announced the dates for the 2013 Ashes Test series between England and Australia.

England will be bidding to retain the urn, as well as win their third consecutive series overall, and their third on home soil under Andrew Strauss' captaincy.

Like in 2009, the opening Test will not be played at Lord's, as Trent Bridge is granted the privilege of hosting the first five days between cricket's greatest sporting rivals.

Look out for the Ad just below here

Article continues after the advertisement

Lord's will host the second Test, while Old Trafford returns having missed out three years ago despite hosting the nail-biting draw in 2005.

Durham will host its first Ashes Test with the fourth match before the series again climaxes at Surrey's Oval.

New Zealand will also be touring next summer for only two Tests at Lord's and Headingley.

Wed 10-14 July - 1st Investec Ashes Test, Trent Bridge

Thu 18-22 July - 2nd Investec Ashes Test, Lord’s

Thu 1-5 Aug - 3rd Investec Ashes Test, Old Trafford

Fri 9-13 Aug - 4th Investec Ashes Test, Emirates Durham ICG

Wed 21-25 Aug - 5th Investec Ashes Test, Kia Oval

Suggested For You

Suggest a correction

Around the Web

England to start 2013 Ashes defence at Trent Bridge

First Ashes Test in Durham to be played between England and Australia in 2013

La Salle treats trees for emerald ash borer

Pa. Victim's Ashes Brought to Men's...

Mohawk man speaks of father's ashes launched into space