Huffpost UK Sport uk

Sports Personality Of The Year: Who Should Win?

Posted: Updated:

Team GB's London 2012 gold medal heroes dominate the BBC's Sports Personality of the Year shortlist but who will win on Sunday?

Double-gold medallists Mo Farah and 2008 SPOTY winner Sir Chris Hoy head the list of Olympians, which also features heptathlete Jessica Ennis and boxer Nicola Adams. Sailor Ben Ainslie, who won his fourth gold and Katherine Grainger, who won her first Olympic title at the fourth attempt, are among the 12-man shortlist.

Ellie Simmonds, who won two swimming events at the Paralympics, is listed with fellow Paralympians David Weir, who took four golds at the games, and Sarah Storey, another quadruple winner.

Look out for the Ad just below here

Article continues after the advertisement

Team GB New Year's Honours Recipients
Share this
Current Slide

Favourite Bradley Wiggins, who became the first Briton to win the Tour de France and won his seventh Olympic gold, is joined by Andy Murray, another London Games gold medallist London who ended Britain's 76-year wait for a male Grand Slam singles with his US Open win, along with USPGA champion and Ryder Cup hero Rory McIlroy.

The event, at London's 15,000-capacity ExCeL, promises to be the biggest in the programme's 59-year history after a golden year for British sport.

Cast your own unofficial vote below.

Quick Poll

Who is your choice for the BBC Sports Personality of the Year?


Around the Web

BBC Sports Personality of the Year: Our writers cast their votes | Sport | The ...

BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2012: Time to reward magical Andy Murray

BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2012: Mo Farah's track record lit up the ...

David Weir: why he should win Sports Personality of the Year - video

Rory McIlroy: why he should win Sports Personality of the Year - video