PARENTS

School Holidays Dates 2014 - 2015

01/09/2014 11:28 | Updated 20 May 2015

School holiday and term time dates

School holiday dates are worth writing down and keeping safe for the new academic year. It might sound a bit too organised, but it will make life a lot easier when you're booking trips or responding to family and friends' emails about events. Also, now that the rules on taking children out of school during term time have changed, booked ahead to try and avoid massive price hikes becomes even more important.

Of course each school might have specific times for breaking up (and of course the random inset days which suddenly creep up), so it's certainly a good idea to visit your school's website for the exact times and dates.

But, as a rule, here are the rough dates for your calender for holidays throughout the academic year 2014/15.

England and Wales

Summer holidays end:

The autumn term will start back during the week of September 1. (Schools in Scotland will, of course, have returned in mid August.)

Autumn half term:

Monday, October 27 to Friday, October 31.

Christmas holidays:

Friday, December 19 to Monday, January 5.

Spring half term:

Monday, February 16 to Friday, February 20.

Easter holidays:

Friday, March 27 to Friday, April 10.

Summer half term:

Monday, May 25 to Friday, May 29.

Summer holidays:

These usually begin during the last two weeks of July.

Scotland

Summer holidays end:

Schools will normally start back during the weeks of August 18.

Autumn half term:

Monday, October 13 to Friday, October 17.

Christmas holidays:

Friday, December 19 to Monday, January 5.

Spring half term:

Monday, February 9, to Friday, February 13.

Easter holidays:

Thursday, April 2 to Friday, April 17.

Summer holidays:

These usually begin during the last two weeks of June.

You can search for your school's term and holiday dates at Gov.uk.

More on Parentdish:

Suggest a correction