GP Trounces Homeopathy-Supporting Rival In Election For Commons NHS Scrutiny Job

18/06/2015 12:45 | Updated 18 June 2015
Peter Byrne/PA Wire

The results of the prestigious House of Commons select committee elections have been revealed – with the most eye-catching results including a GP-turned-MP convincingly beating her rival who backs alternative medicines on the NHS.

Sarah Wollaston, Tory MP for Totnes, has regained the chairmanship of the Health select committee after winning 532 votes from her parliamentary colleagues. David Tredinnick secured support from just 64 MPs.

This week Mr Tredinnick wrote on The Huffington Post UK how the NHS had to "look outside the box" and embrace homeopathy, herbal medicines and acupuncture alongside "orthodox" medicines.

Echoing many critics, Dr Wollaston has criticised the lack of evidence to support alternative therapies and that they risk causing "serious harms" when "masquerading" as a vaccine.

Elsewhere, Labour MP Keith Vaz, one of Britain's best-known backbenchers, retained his grip of the high-profile Home Affairs select committee he has chaired for seven years.

The Culture, Media and Sport committee, which investigated phone hacking in the last parliament and called Rupert Murdoch to give evidence, will be chaired by Conservative Jesse Norman, a former ministerial aide who was sacked after abstaining from a vote on Syria.

Conservative MP Dr Julian Lewis, arguably Parliament's biggest supporter of the Trident nuclear deterrent, will lead the Defence committee, and Labour's Meg Hillier is to chair Public Accounts - the committee infamous for grilling Google and Amazon over tax avoidance.

As well as a bigger media profile chairmen get around £15,000 a year on top of their MPs' salary.

The winners are:

Backbench Business
Ian Mearns (Lab)

Business, Innovation & Skills
Iain Wright (Lab)

Culture, Media & Sport
Jesse Norman (Con)

Dr Julian Lewis (Con)

Neil Carmichael (Con)

Environmental Audit
Huw Irranca-Davies (Lab)

Foreign Affairs
Crispin Blunt (Con)

Dr Sarah Wollaston (Con)

Home Affairs
Keith Vaz (Lab)

International Development
Stephen Twigg (Lab)

Robert Neill (Con)

Helen Jones (Lab)

Public Accounts
Meg Hillier (Lab)

Science and Technology
Nicola Blackwood (Con)

Work and Pensions
Frank Field (Lab)

A single nomination was put forward for twelve committees, meaning they were elected unopposed.

Communities & Local Government
Clive Betts (Lab)

Energy and Climate Change
Angus MacNeil (SNP)

Environment, Food & Rural Affairs
Neil Parish (Con)

Northern Ireland Affairs
Laurence Robertson (Con)

Charles Walker (Con)

Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs
Bernard Jenkin (Con)

Scottish Affairs
Pete Wishart (SNP)

Kevin Barron (Lab)

Andrew Tyrie (Con)

Louise Ellman (Lab)

Welsh Affairs
David T.C. Davies (Con)

Women and Equalities
Maria Miller (Con)

Suggest a correction