Huffpost UK uk

London 2012: Ed Clancy Leads GB's Men's Team Pursuit To Win Olympic Gold And Set New World Record

Posted: Updated:

Great Britain's men's team pursuit powered to Olympic gold at the velodrome on Friday evening, setting a new world record with victory over Australia.

ed clancy

Ed Clancy celebrates Team GB's win

Ed Clancy, Geraint Thomas, Peter Kennaugh and Steven Burke posted a time of three minutes 51.659 seconds, beating Australia's Jack Bobridge, Glenn O'Shea, Rohan Dennis and Michael Hepburn, who clocked three minutes 54.581 seconds.

The British four, who are current world champions, were roared on by a partisan crowd, including Tony and Cherie Blair.

The team matched the gold medal won in Beijing by Clancy, Thomas, Bradley Wiggins and Paul Manning in the same event.

The victory makes Team GB the first country to defend the title in 36 years.

Chris Hoy
Bloody brilliant you're all legends. Must be mixed emotions chin up mate

Suggested For You

Suggest a correction

Around the Web

Britain bid for more track gold in Olympic team pursuit - Yahoo ...

Olympic cycling: GB men's team pursuit break record but aim for ...

GB Wins Gold In Men's Cycling Team Pursuit

Golden performance for GB men's team pursuit

Britain bid for more track gold in Olympic team pursuit

Britain wins Olympic cycling gold medal in men's team pursuit in world record time

Hoy Five! Sir Chris wins gold in the men's team pursuit to equal Sir Steve ...