THE BLOG

10 Books to Get Your Child Into Reading

03/03/2016 13:29 GMT | Updated 04/03/2017 10:12 GMT

World Book Day (Thursday 3 March) is the perfect time to get your children excited about reading, but as someone with dyslexia, I know that books can seem intimidating if you struggle with the written word.

With perseverance I eventually found a light bulb moment book that changed my attitude towards reading forever and once I got it I never wanted to stop. I believe there's a book like this out there for everyone.

If your child struggles to read, or lacks enthusiasm for reading, try books with relatively large text and short chapters. Funny and adventure-based stories are also more likely to appeal: they are easy to get into and mean children won't feel like they're reading a school book.

Here's my list of ten books that are perfect to start reluctant, emergent or dyslexic readers on their reading journey.

Little Legends: The Spell Thief by Tom Percival (Macmillan Children's Books)

Little Legends is a re-imagining of your favourite fairy tales and characters, including Jack (of Beanstalk fame) and a new arrival to Tale Town, Anansi. This early reader is just the ticket for reluctant readers, with large text, frequent, short chapters and a fast paced story line.

Prince Frog Face by Kaye Umansky (Barrington Stoke)

Barrington Stoke's books are specially designed to break down the barriers that can stop kids getting into reading. This fantastic book has tinted paper and easily readable font; Kaye Umansky is brilliant at writing comedy for children and Prince Frog Face is sure to make your reluctant reader giggle along and keep turning the pages.

Undead Pets: Flight of the Battered Budgie by Sam Hay (Stripes Publishing)

Perfect for reluctant readers who like spooky, icky things. After Joe makes a wish on a spooky Egyptian amulet he finds himself the Protector of Undead Pets. Funny and "fur-ightful", this series is a great read with lots of black and white illustrations throughout.

Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made by Stephan Pastis (Walker)

Timmy might be a failure but this book certainly isn't. This series follows the successes (and many failures) of Timmy and his business partner and polar bear, Total, as they run their own detective agency unlocking mysteries. With funny, black and white illustrations throughout, this is perfect for fans of Wimpy Kid who aren't sure what to read next.

Robot Girl by Malorie Blackman (Barrington Stoke)

Another great Barrington Stoke book, this time from the former UK Children's Laureate, Malorie Blackman. This is a gripping, futuristic tale featuring a special font and paper designed for dyslexic readers.

Hamish and the World Stoppers by Danny Wallace, illustrated by Jamie Littler (Simon & Schuster)

As hilarious as you'd expect from comedian Danny Wallace, this is a fun, adventure-packed book with brilliant companion illustrations by Jamie Littler. We think all children would love to put themselves in Hamish's shoes and have an adventure in a world that's been paused in time.

Mortimer Keene: Dino Danger by Tim Healey, illustrated by Chris Mould (Hodder Children's)

Come and meet Mortimer Keene, genius inventor who has just created a time-travel machine. With hilarious illustrations by Chris Mould and short, easy-to-read chapters, this is perfect for new and reluctant readers.

Fortunately, The Milk by Neil Gaiman, illustrated by Chris Riddell (Bloomsbury)

From the fantastic team of Neil Gaiman and current children's laureate Chris Riddell comes this adventurous and inventive book all about telling tall tales. With large text and brilliant illustrations from Riddell, this is a great book for sharing with your child or for them to try on their own.

The Dragonsitter by Josh Lacey, illustrated by Garry Parsons (Andersen)

The Dragonsitter is the first of a brilliant series by Josh Lacey. Each chapter is short and written as a series of letters and emails between Eddy and his Uncle Morton, who has left his pet dragon with Eddy. Witty, sharp and just the ticket for children who like a good laugh - and dragons.

Bunny vs Monkey by Jamie Smart (David Fickling Books)

A graphic novel of the Bunny vs Monkey comic from the brilliant children's magazine, The Phoenix. Wacky and adventurous, with colourful graphic illustrations that are sure to amuse and captivate even the most reluctant of readers.

You can find more books to read with children using The Reading Agency's Book Sorter