Facebook has finally started removing 'deleted' photos from its servers, after users noted they were still accessible online.
Until now it was possible to view old images via direct URLs.
Users had complained that photos they deleted - whether because they were embarrassing, upsetting or (more likely) just boring - were sticking around online far longer than they wanted.
But Facebook now says that its new photo storage system means that all deleted images will be removed within 30 days - and probably much sooner.
The new policy is possible thanks to an upgrade to Facebook's content delivery network (CDN), the social network said.
"As a result of work on our policies and infrastructure, we have instituted a 'max-age' of 30 days for our CDN links," Facebook spokesperson Frederic Wolens told CNET in a statement.
"However, in some cases the content will expire on the CDN much more quickly, based on a number of factors."
According to an Ars Technica test, photos were removed within two days.
But Facebook says photos are removed from profiles immediately, and that most users shouldn't notice any change.