England Could Face Spain Or Germany In 2014 World Cup Group Stage

17/10/2013 09:32

England could face Spain or Germany in the World Cup group stages after Fifa released its latest world rankings.

Although England have climbed up seven places to 10th they have missed out on the top eight and will play against one of the top seeds before the knockout rounds.

Spain, Germany, Argentina, Colombia, Belgium, Switzerland and Brazil are confirmed pot one seeds, with Uruguay set to join them should they beat Jordan in their playoff.

If Jordan surprisingly beat Uruguay then Holland will occupy the eighth seed.

England were seeded in 2006 and 2010 but were in pot two for the 2002 finals in Japan and South Korea, when they were drawn with Argentina, who they memorably defeated 1-0.

Italy are another pot 2 side after they dropped four places to eighth following two draws with Denmark and Armenia.

1. Spain
2. Germany
3. Argentina
4. Colombia
5. Belgium
6. Uruguay
7. Switzerland
8. Netherlands
8. Italy
10. England
11. Brazil
12. Chile
13. USA
14. Portugal
15. Greece
16. Bosnia-Herzegovina
17. Ivory Coast
18. Croatia
19. Russia
20. Ukraine

Suggest a correction