TECH

Uber's Latest Update That Tracks Your Location Branded 'Creepy' And 'Arrogant' By Customers

If it ain't broke, don't fix it.

06/12/2016 10:41 GMT

Uber’s latest app update has introduced a controversial new feature that tracks customers for up to five minutes after their journey ends. 

And people are not happy about it.  

The feature, which was rolled out in the last week across the UK, utilises the GPS tracking technology to chart your movements once you leave the vehicle, even if the app is only running in the background. 

The ride-sharing company said in their official announcement: “We do this to improve pickups, drop-offs, customer service and to enhance safety.”

But customers have started a backlash, with some claiming they will no longer be using the app until the user agreement is moderated. 

The message, which required all customers to agree to the further monitoring before being able to use the update, stated: “Allow Uber to access your location even when you’re not using the app.”

Although Uber specify that you can change your location preference settings, the only options made available are to either ‘always’ allow access or ‘never’. 

Meaning that if you don’t want to be subject to the new post-journey tracking, you can’t use the automatic location-finding functionality when you actually want to request a car – forcing many customers into the change.

Some on Twitter have been suggesting that others manually toggle between tracking turned on and off and lots have just opted out all together.

Either way, they’re finally going to learn that 99% of the time they drop us in the wrong place but we’re just too British to say anything.