28/02/2012 06:00 GMT | Updated 28/02/2012 06:02 GMT

England Drop Eoin Morgan For Sri Lanka Test Series

Eoin Morgan has paid the price for a dismal tour of the United Arab Emirates after being dropped from England's Test squad for the trip to Sri Lanka.

Morgan averaged just 13.66 against Pakistan in three Tests in the Middle East and fared little better in the limited-overs contests in which he is regarded as a specialist.

His struggles have presented an opportunity for Samit Patel, who has been included in the Test party for the first time and will compete with Ravi Bopara for the number six spot.

His spin could also come in handy on turning sub-continent wickets, although the slow-bowling ranks have been strengthened further by the addition of James Tredwell.

England coach Andy Flower believes Morgan requires time to iron out some flaws in his technique, but has tipped him to bounce back.

He said: "He's had a tough tour of the UAE, we've been here for two months and it has been hard work for him. He has got some work to do I think on his Test game - that's going to be quite difficult for him considering his next cricket is going to be IPL cricket.

"When he comes back he'll have limited exposure to opportunities to get four-day cricket under his belt, so he has got to go away and give some serious thought to his method in Test cricket.

"He has been severely tested out there by the Pakistan spinners, as have all our batsmen. I still think he has a very exciting future in Test cricket, he's only 25 years old and he's a very talented player, a very confident player and a very dangerous player.

"If he can get his game in order so that the next time he gets a game in Test cricket he can grab it with both hands, then he will fulfil his wishes for his cricket career and England will be a better side for it."

The England squad for the two-Test series in Sri Lanka is: AJ Strauss (captain, Middlesex), JM Anderson (Lancashire), IR Bell (Warwickshire), RS Bopara (Essex), TT Bresnan (Yorkshire), SCJ Broad (Nottinghamshire), AN Cook (Essex), SM Davies (Surrey), ST Finn (Middlesex), MS Panesar (Sussex), SR Patel (Nottinghamshire), KP Pietersen (Surrey), MJ Prior (Sussex), GP Swann (Nottinghamshire), JC Tredwell (Kent), IJL Trott (Warwickshire).