15/10/2012 08:35 BST | Updated 15/10/2012 08:41 BST

Gareth Bale Accused Of Diving For Wales Against Scotland, Does He Go Down Too Easily? (VIDEO)

Wales' 2-1 comeback against Scotland on Friday night has been tainted with controversy after the linesman disallowed Steven Fletcher's goal for no logical reason and then Gareth Bale won a dubious penalty.

For Bale, his tumble which earned the penalty Wales drew level from, marred a magnificent winner. Ever ebullient, although Charlie Adam's shadowing of him was pathetically evasive, the strike was superb.

But what about that tumble? His loss of contact was genuine - the Tottenham winger tripped over himself (unintentionally?) - but it was his gall to turn around and appeal for a spotkick which irked.

This came a week after his spectacular and unprovoked fall when Spurs hosted Aston Villa. Anticipating a clobbering from onrushing goalkeeper Brad Guzan, Bale simply fell over. The embarrassment of the incident ensured he didn't appeal for a foul, yet he was't booked either.

For a conclusive Bale dive you have to go back to February this year and Anfield. Again though, he wasn't booked for what appeared to be an attempt to dupe the referee.

Bale claims the fouls he incurs as a skilful and pacy winger have forced him to take 'evasive action'. That's quite the slap in the face for the Sunday coaches who tell kids to be brave, although his early injury record with Tottenham may have a bearing on his antics.

The reaction to his tumble has been minimal. Diving - and what constitutes a dive - is a tiresome debate. John Barnes' attempt to defend Luis Suárez after his Buckaroo plummet against Stoke is worth referencing, not commenting on.

But Bale is British, and therein lies the key as to why he doesn't garner as much vitriol as Suárez. On the day he went down under Guzan's non-challenge, so too did Suárez, and in the Battle of the Dives, there was only one winner.