26/11/2012 14:16 GMT

BBC Sports Personality Of The Year Shortlist Announced (PICTURES)

Team GB's London 2012 gold medal heroes dominate the BBC's Sports Personality of the Year shortlist.

Double-gold medallists Mo Farah and 2008 SPOTY winner Sir Chris Hoy head the list of Olympians, which also features heptathlete Jessica Ennis and boxer Nicola Adams. Sailor Ben Ainslie, who won his fourth gold and Katherine Grainger, who won her first Olympic title at the fourth attempt, are among the 12-man shortlist.

Ellie Simmonds, who won two swimming events at the Paralympics, is listed with fellow Paralympians David Weir, who took four golds at the games, and Sarah Storey, another quadruple winner.

Team GB New Year's Honours Recipients

Favourite Bradley Wiggins, who became the first Briton to win the Tour de France and won his seventh Olympic gold, is joined by Andy Murray, another London Games gold medallist London who ended Britain's 76-year wait for a male Grand Slam singles with his US Open win, along with USPGA champion and Ryder Cup hero Rory McIlroy.

The event, at London's 15,000-capacity ExCeL on Sunday 16 December promises to be the biggest in the programme's 59-year history after a golden year for British sport.