Sweeney Todd, Sheridan Smith And Stephen Fry Big Winners At Whatsonstage.com Awards

West End hit Sweeney Todd topped the bill at a theatre awards show by carrying off five prizes on a night when Sheridan Smith, Stephen Fry and Will Young were all also recognised.

The production was named best musical revival while its stars Michael Ball and Imelda Staunton were declared the best actor and actress in a musical at the Whatsonstage.com Awards.

Rupert Everett landed the prize for best actor in a play for his performance in The Judas Kiss.

And Smith - who has previously won two Olivier awards for her stage roles - took the title for best actress in a play in recognition of her portrayal of Hedda Gabler.

Chart star Will Young was also rewarded as newcomer of the year for his West End debut in the show Cabaret.

And Stephen Fry landed a prize for his return to the London stage, with his performance as Malvolio in Twelfth Night at the Globe Theatre, picking up the best supporting actor in a play prize. In 1995 he famously skipped the country after being stung by a bad review for his performance in the production Cell Mates.

He said of his win: "I am simply astonished. Seventeen years ago, I left this country in disgrace having run out of a play and I thought I might never return to the stage again. But thanks to the Globe, to Tim Carroll the director, the author William Shakespeare, and to the wonderful Sonia Friedman (producer), and most of all, to the audiences at the Globe and the Apollo, I have been back onstage in a wonderful play and had the privilege of playing with one of the best casts that has ever been assembled."

The National Theatre's adaptation of the award-winning Mark Haddon book The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night Time was named best new play.

Sweeney Todd's other gongs at the ceremony - for which winners are chosen by theatregoers - were best director and best lighting.

Les Miserables, which has now become a major movie hit, was named best West End show, while Danny Boyle's Olympic opening ceremony was given the accolade of theatre event of the year.

The ceremony at the Palace Theatre in London was hosted by Mel Giedroyc and Rufus Hound.

The main winners included:

  • Best Actress in a Play - Sheridan Smith (Hedda Gabler, Old Vic)
  • Best Actor in a Play - Rupert Everett (The Judas Kiss, Hampstead)
  • Best Supporting Actress in a Play - Natalie Casey (Abigail's Party, Menier Chocolate Factory, Wyndham's)
  • Best Supporting Actor in a Play - Stephen Fry (Twelfth Night, Shakespeare's Globe, Apollo)
  • Best Actress in a Musical - Imelda Staunton (Sweeney Todd, Adelphi)
  • Best Actor in a Musical - Michael Ball (Sweeney Todd, Adelphi)
  • Best Supporting Actress in a Musical - Melanie C (Jesus Christ Superstar, O2)
  • Best Supporting Actor in a Musical - Tim Minchin (Jesus Christ Superstar, O2)
  • Best New Play - The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time (National, Cottesloe)
  • Best New Comedy - The Ladykillers (Gielgud)
  • Best New Musical - The Bodyguard (Adelphi)
  • Best Play Revival - Abigail's Party (Menier Chocolate Factory, Wyndham's)
  • Best Musical Revival - Sweeney Todd (Adelphi)
  • Best Shakespearean Production - Twelfth Night (Shakespeare's Globe, Apollo)
  • Best Director - Jonathan Kent (Sweeney Todd, Adelphi)
  • London Newcomer of the Year - Will Young (Cabaret, Savoy)
  • Best Regional Production - American Idiot (on tour)
  • Best West End Show - Les Miserables (Queen's)
  • Theatre Event of the Year - Danny Boyle's Olympics Opening Ceremony