Australia Squad For England Tests Boasts 5 Players With Ashes Experience

Australia's Ashes squad for their Test matches with England this summer boasts just five players with experience of cricket's premier series.

Wicketkeeper Brad Haddin has been named as the Aussies' vice-captain, replacing Shane Watson, who stepped down as Michael Clarke's deputy after the troubled tour on India.

Watson remains part of the 16-man squad, which includes uncapped left-arm seamer James Faulkner, with the erratic Mitchell Johnson missing out.

James Faulkner could win his first cap during the Ashes

Chris Rogers, the 35-year-old batsman who has just one Test cap to his name, also makes the squad and seamer Ryan Harris returns. Matthew Wade, who has been Australia's first-choice wicketkeeper of late, will also travel to England.

National selector John Inverarity said: "We feel it's important to have a senior, seasoned player support Michael [Clarke] at this time.

"When Shane Watson advised of his decision to stand down, the NSP (national selection panel) viewed Brad as the exceptional candidate to step into this leadership void."

"Matthew Wade is a very good cricketer and remains central to our plans for the future," Inverarity added.

Haddin played in Australia's 2009 and 2010-11 Ashes series defeats

"Chris Rogers is a hardened first-class cricketer and has been given a deserved opportunity on the back of sustained run-scoring in both Australia and England over many seasons.

"James Faulkner has also been given an opportunity after impressing in recent months as an all-rounder. His performance in last month's Bupa Sheffield Shield final was compelling and he has now produced three consistently good seasons with the ball at Shield level for Tasmania.

"He is a player who is seldom out of the game for long. He takes wickets, forms partnerships and makes valuable runs.

"Ryan Harris has regained fitness and it is great to have such a very highly regarded and well-performed pace bowler back in the mix."

Food for thought: Clarke will take charge of his first Ashes series this summer

Pakistan-born leg-spinner Fawad Ahmed, yet to receive his Australian passport, has not been included, leaving Nathan Lyon as the only spinner in the 16.

The first Ashes Test begins at Trent Bridge on 10 July.

Australia squad for the five-Test series Against England in July and August:

Michael Clarke (C), Brad Haddin (VC), Jackson Bird, Ed Cowan, James Faulkner, Ryan Harris, Phil Hughes, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, James Pattinson, Chris Rogers, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Shane Watson.