Brentford 0-1 Doncaster Rovers: The Greatest Ending To A Football Match?

Final days of the season are littered with some of English football's greatest moments. In 1989, it was was up for grabs for Michael Thomas, in 1999 Jimmy Glass sparked the greatest invasion since Normandy and on Saturday, Brentford were left devastated after Doncaster Rovers defeated them in an unbelievable crescendo.

With both teams vying for promotion and the scoreline at 0-0 in stoppage-time, Brentford won a penalty when Dean Furman fouled Toumani Diagouraga in the box in the 94th minute.

Substitute Marcello Trotta insisted on taking the spot-kick, knowing that if he scored the Bees would be buzzing their way up into the Championship and Doncaster, only needing a draw for promotion, would face the uncertainty of the Ply-offs.

Brentford players are dejected after Coppinger's winner

Only Trotta blasted his effort against the bar, and after his teammates endeavoured to force the ball goalwards again, Doncaster cleared and broke away.

Billy Paynter ran free on the right flank, drew the goalkeeper and assisted James Coppinger to score the winner at Griffin Park which secured Doncaster the League One title.

Dejected Brentford boss Uwe Rosler admitted Trotta was not his first choice to take the pivotal penalty.

Doncaster savour the champagne as champions

"Trotta was not my first choice to take the penalty, but I'm not going to hang any individual out to dry. I'm not going to say anything more other than we will deal with this internally," Rosler told BBC London 94.9.

"The whole group had to respond because the whole group knew who I selected to take the penalty - which was Kevin O'Connor."

Before You Go