Foster's Edinburgh Comedy Awards 2013: And The Nominees Are...

The shortlists for Britain's most coveted live comedy gongs - the Foster's Edinburgh Comedy Awards, formerly known as The Perrier Awards - have been released.

For the first time in 20 years, there are seven nominees for Best Comedy Show. They include critics' favourite Bridget Christie, sketch duo Max and Ivan, and previous nominees Nick Helm and James Acaster.

The Best Newcomer nominees, meanwhile, include the winner of last year's So You Think You're Funny? award, Irish comedian Aisling Bea.

Nica Burns, producer of the Foster’s Edinburgh Comedy Awards, said that the panel sat through "the longest Best Comedy show shortlist debate in the history of the Awards, going to an unprecedented second vote."

"In complete contrast to last year, 2013 will be remembered as the year of the stand-up with an exceptional laugh count," Burns said. "This year’s shows all combine great writing and outstanding performances with subject matter ranging from feminism, settling down, sky-writing, cats, love, life, lie-ins and the dangers of school reunions."

The winner of the Best Comedy Show receives a cash prize of £10,000, while the Best Newcomer goes home with £5,000. There is also a Panel Prize of £5,000. The winners will be announced on Saturday 24 August in Edinburgh at a ceremony presented by Steve Coogan.

The nominations are:

Foster’s Best Comedy Show

Bridget Christie: A Bic For Her

Carl Donnelly: Now That’s What I Carl Donnelly! Volume V

James Acaster: Lawnmower

Max and Ivan: The Reunion

Mike Wozniak: Take The Hit

Nick Helm: One Man Mega Myth

Seann Walsh: The Lie-in King

Foster’s Best Newcomer

Aisling Bea: C’est La Bea

John Kearns: Sight Gags for Perverts

Liam Williams

Matt Okine: Being Black & Chicken & S#%t

Romesh Ranganathan: Rom Com

Popular in the Community