Pixies New Album: Band Announce Release Of ‘Indie Cindy', First Album In 20 Years


Pixies have confirmed the upcoming release of ‘Indie Cindy’, their first studio album in over twenty years.

Pixies haven’t released any new material since their 1991 album ‘Trompe Le Monde’ but now the band have delighted fans by revealing the title and track list of a surprise, new record.

Pixies performing at the 2013 iTunes Festival

After an 11 year hiatus, Pixies began playing live again in 2004 and have made a number of appearances at UK festivals in recent years.

They are currently gearing up to headline Field Day in July 2014.

Drummer David Lovering has stated that they spent a long time deliberating whether to get back in the recording studio together, explaining in a statement: “We started seriously talking about recording new music about four years ago,”

“New music seemed like something we just had to do, we just couldn’t continue to go out and tour without anything new,” he added. “So the talk evolved into writing and recording, and we’re all very happy with the way everything worked out.”

2013 was a tough year for the band. Founding bassist Kim Deal quit and was replaced by Kim Shattuck, who then left in November to focus on her own projects.

The band are currently touring with Paz Lenchantin on bass-playing duties.

'Indie Cindy' will be released in multiple formats via the band’s own label Pixiemusic on 28 April 2014.

The track list is as follows:

1. What Goes Boom

2. Greens and Blues

3. Indie Cindy

4. Bagboy

5. Magdalena 318

6. Silver Snail

7. Blue Eyed Hexe

8. Ring the Bell

9. Another Toe in the Ocean

10. Andro Queen

11. Snakes

12. Jaime Bravo

Black Francis, Kim Shattuck, David Lovering, Joey Santiago

The Pixies

Before You Go