Netherlands 2-1 Mexico - World Cup 2014: Arjen Robben Admits 'Diving'

Did Robben Dive? (POLL)

Arjen Robben admitted he dived during Holland's 2-1 World Cup win over Mexico but insisted it was not for the decisive stoppage-time penalty he earned.

Robben was tripped by Mexico captain Rafael Márquez and Dutch substitute Klaas-Jan Huntelaar converted the spot-kick to send Holland through to the quarter-finals.

Mexico coach Miguel Herrera accused Robben of committing three dives but Robben said he simulated just once.

Robben hits the deck to win the decisive penalty which sent Holland through

"The one at the end was a penalty, I was fouled," Robben told Dutch television channel NOS. "At the same time I have to apologise in the first half I took a dive and I really shouldn't do that.

"That was a stupid, stupid thing to do but sometimes you're expecting to be struck and then they pull their leg away at the last minute."

Robben's mazy runs troubled Mexico all afternoon in Fortaleza and he was unfortunate not to win a penalty in a goalless first-half when Márquez and Héctor Moreno hacked him down as he burst into the Mexican area.

Yet a frustrated Herrera said Portuguese referee Pedro Proenca should have taken action against the Bayern Munich winger for the penalty he procured in the 92nd minute.

He told a news conference: "Robben did three dives and he should have been cautioned. You should caution a guy who is trying to cheat and then if Robben did it again he would be sent off."


What's Hot