Ivor Novello Awards Winners List Led By Ed Sheeran, Winning Songwriter Of The Year

The annual Ivor Novello Awards took place in London on Thursday, and music stars from across all genres came together to celebrate song-writing.

Ed Sheeran was the man of the moment, walking home with the prestigious Songwriter Of The Year accolade, while Clean Bandit’s ‘Rather Be’ nabbed them two awards.

Ed poses with his trophy

Ed took to Instagram shortly after his win, posting a snap of his trophy along with the caption: “Honoured to have won songwriter of the year at the Ivor novellos, so so cool x.”

A photo posted by @teddysphotos on

2015 marks the 60th anniversary of the Ivor Novello Awards, which celebrate the best British songwriters from the past 12 months.

Hozier, who duetted with Annie Lennox at the Grammys back in February, bagged the Best Song Musically And Lyrically prize for his smash-hit ‘Take Me To Church’, while Albert Hammond was awarded the Outstanding Song Collection title.

See the full list of winners and all the snaps from the ceremony below:

PRS for Music Most Performed Work: ‘Rather Be’ (Clean Bandit)

Best Television Soundtrack: ‘The Honourable Woman’ (Composed by Natalie Holt and Martin Phipps)

Outstanding Song Collection: Albert Hammond

The Ivors Classical Music Award: Judith Weir

Album Award: So Long, See You Tomorrow (Written by Jack Steadman, Bombay Bicycle Club)

Best Song Musically and Lyrically: ‘Take Me To Church’ (Written by Andrew Hozier-Byrne)

PRS for Music Outstanding Contribution to British Music: Boy George

Best Original Film Score: ‘71’ (Composed by David Holmes)

Songwriter of the Year: Ed Sheeran

The Ivors Inspiration Award: James Dean Bradfield, Sean Moore and Nicky Wire

Best Contemporary Song : ‘Rather Be’

The Ivors Special Anniversary Award: Bob Geldof and Midge Ure

Lifetime Achievement: Geezer Butler, Tony Iommi, Ozzy Osbourne and Bill Ward

PRS for Music Special International Award: Paul Williams

BASCA Fellowship: Annie Lennox

Ivor Novello Awards 2015