Bafta Explains Why Mike Thalassitis And Barry Chuckle Were Missing From TV Awards’ In Memoriam Section

Barry Chuckle and Love Island are both Bafta winners.

Bafta have explained why Love Island star Mike Thalassitis and comedian Barry Chuckle were omitted from the In Memoriam section of Sunday night’s TV awards.

Stars from the small screen gathered at London’s Royal Festival Hall for the TV Baftas and, as is customary, a section of the evening was devoted to remembering famous faces who have died in the last 12 months.

Barry and Mike were missing from the tributes section
Barry and Mike were missing from the tributes section
Ollie Milling via Getty Images/Beretta/Sims/Shutterstock

The short video was introduced by the evening’s host Graham Norton and featured tributes to stars including actors Leslie Grantham and Luke Perry, as well as presenter Magenta Devine.

However, fans soon spotted omissions, noting that Barry Chuckle, who won a special Bafta award with his brother in 2008, was absent.

Paul Chuckle tweeted about the matter too, writing that Barry “should have been mentioned”.

Love Island became a Bafta winning show last year, in the Reality and Constructed Factual category and fans also noted that Mike, who died at the age of 26 in March, was missing from the tributes.

A Bafta spokesperson addressed the omissions when contacted by HuffPost UK, explaining that “Barry was featured at our Children’s Awards ceremony in November 2018”.

“Owing to the number of people we can recognise at any one time, names are featured within a ceremony only once,” they added.

“Owing to the limited amount of time for the televised obituaries section within our ceremonies, it is not possible to recognise all those who have sadly passed away.

“BAFTA’s online obituaries maintain a year-round public testament to those from our industries who are no longer with us.”

The ceremony celebrated many of our favourite shows from the past 12 months and Phoebe Waller-Bridge’s thriller Killing Eve was the biggest winner on the night.

Two eight-time nominees, Benedict Cumberbatch and Julia Davis, became winners for the first time, triumphing for Patrick Melrose and Sally4Ever, respectively.


What's Hot