04/10/2018 09:30 BST | Updated 04/10/2018 09:37 BST

Westlife Announce 20th Anniversary Reunion, After Former Member Brian McFadden Signs For 'Dancing On Ice'

There's new music and a tour on the way.

Westlife have announced they are reforming, six years after splitting.  

The boyband, made up of Kian Egan, Nicky Byrne, Mark Feehily and Shane Filan, are to release new music before also heading out on tour.

EMPICS Entertainment
Westlife are reforming for new music and a tour

However, they will not be welcoming back former member Brian McFadden, who recently signed up for the new series of ‘Dancing On Ice’

The foursome confirmed their big news in a video, which shows them taking a seat on their trademark stools.

“We’ll be seeing you soon,” they say.

The reunion marks the 20th anniversary of the band, who had their first hit, ‘Swear It Again’ in 1998. 

During their original 14 years together, the Irish group racked up 13 UK number one singles, and sold over 20.2 million records in the UK alone. 

They became famous for songs like ‘Flying Without Wings’, ‘Fool Again’ and ‘Bop Bop Baby’. 

Their final studio album, ‘Gravity’, was released in 2010, with a greatest hits collection marking their farewell in 2014. 

It had previously been rumoured Ed Sheeran has penned their comeback single. 

Doug Peters/EMPICS Entertainment
Brian McFadden will not be back for the reunion

Brian, who quit the group in 2004, confirmed his participation in next year’s ‘Dancing On Ice’ earlier this week. 

He said in a statement: “I’m very excited. I’ve already been practising out the back garden on my rollerblades and my mum says I’m a one man Torvill and Dean.”