Lionel Messi Wins Ballon D'Or for Fourth Year In A Row

Lionel Messi has been awarded the Ballon d'Or for the fourth successive year.

The Barcelona and Argentina forward was announced as the winner of the award given to the world's best player during a ceremony in Zurich on Monday.

The award was Messi's fourth successive Ballon d'Or

Messi, who scored 91 goals in 2012, beat his club team-mate Andres Iniesta and Real Madrid's Ronaldo to the awards, although his near century of strikes couldn't help Barcelona to win the Spanish league title or Champions League last season.

"It's a huge pleasure for me," Messi said, after accepting the trophy. "It's the third time I get this award and it's a huge honour."

The 25-year-old polled 41.6% of the votes with Ronaldo taking 23.68% and Iniesta 10.91%.

Abby Wambach won the women's award and Vicente del Bosque the coach accolade, while the team of the year was made up only of players from Spain's La Liga.