National Television Awards Nominations: 'Doctor Who' And 'Sherlock' Go Head To Head For Two Gongs

Who Is 'Sherlock' Going Head To Head With?

'Doctor Who' and 'Sherlock' will go head to head for two prizes at the National Television Awards this month.

The shows - both created by writer and producer Steven Moffatt - will challenge for best drama, while stars Matt Smith and Benedict Cumberbatch are in the running for best male actor.

'Doctor Who' is up for a third award as former assistant Karen Gillan, who bowed out as Amy Pond last year, is nominated for the best actress prize.

Benedict Cumberbatch with Doctor Who and Sherlock creator Steven Moffat

She competes against comedy star Miranda Hart for her role in 'Call The Midwife', Suranne Jones for 'Scott And Bailey' and Sheridan Smith for 'Mrs Biggs'.

'Sherlock' and 'Doctor Who' line up against ITV's period hit 'Downton Abbey' for the best drama prize, with the category completed by recently-axed fantasy series 'Merlin'.

Colin Morgan, the star of 'Merlin' which wound up last month, is also up for best actor along with Cumberbatch who plays 'Sherlock Holmes' in the updated take on the Conan Doyle mysteries, Smith for his role as the Doctor and Daniel Mays for his performance as Ronnie Biggs in 'Mrs Biggs'.

Downton Abbey is up for best drama

BBC1 singing contest 'The Voice' joins established ratings heavyweights 'Britain's Got Talent', 'Dancing On Ice', 'Strictly Come Dancing' and 'The X Factor' in the top talent show shortlist.

'The Great British Bake-Off' makes its debut on the NTA shortlist as it lines up against 'The Apprentice', 'Top Gear' and Paul O'Grady's 'For The Love Of Dogs' for the best factual entertainment prize.

Ant and Dec, who have won the best entertainment prize for 11 consecutive years, could extend their run as they are shortlisted for the title yet again. They will do battle with Alan Carr, Keith Lemon and Dermot O'Leary.

And the Geordie duo are up for a further prize as their show 'I'm A Celebrity ... Get Me Out Of Here!' is nominated for the entertainment programme award, against 'Alan Carr: Chatty Man', 'The Graham Norton Show' and 'The Only Way Is Essex'.

Sir David Attenborough's 'Frozen Planet' - which drew criticism when it emerged some scenes were filmed in a zoo rather than the Arctic - is up for best documentary series.

Organisers of the 18th annual event will celebrate the success of the Olympics and Paralympics with a special award and will celebrate favourite moments from the sporting spectacular.

Prizes will be handed out at a star-studded ceremony at London's O2 Arena on January 23.

Viewers will be able to vote for the winners of the awards from today.

:: The full shortlist - published in the new edition of Radio Times, on sale today - is:

:: Drama:

Doctor Who

Downton Abbey



:: Drama performance male:

Benedict Cumberbatch - Sherlock

Daniel Mays - Mrs Biggs

Colin Morgan - Merlin

Matt Smith - Doctor Who

:: Drama performance female:

Karen Gillan - Doctor Who

Miranda Hart - Call the Midwife

Suranne Jones - Scott & Bailey

Sheridan Smith - Mrs Biggs

:: Factual entertainment:

Paul O'Grady: For the Love of Dogs

The Apprentice

The Great British Bake Off

Top Gear

:: Situation comedy:

Absolutely Fabulous


Mrs Brown's Boys

The Big Bang Theory

:: Talent show:

Britain's Got Talent

Dancing on Ice

Strictly Come Dancing

The Voice UK

The X Factor

:: Comedy panel show:

Have I Got News for You

Mock the Week


Would I Lie to You?

:: Entertainment presenter:

Alan Carr

Ant & Dec

Keith Lemon

Dermot O'Leary

:: Entertainment programme:

Alan Carr: Chatty Man

I'm a Celebrity... Get Me Out of Here!

The Graham Norton Show

The Only Way Is Essex

:: Serial drama:

Coronation Street




:: Serial drama performance:

Alan Halsall - Coronation Street

Michelle Keegan - Coronation Street

Emmett J Scanlan - Hollyoaks

Adam Woodyatt - EastEnders

:: Documentary series:

Big Fat Gypsy Weddings

Frozen Planet

One Born Every Minute

Planet Earth Live

:: Daytime programme:

Come Dine with Me

The Chase

The Jeremy Kyle Show

This Morning

:: Newcomer:

Liam Fox - Emmerdale

Natalie Gumede - Coronation Street

Joseph Thompson - Hollyoaks

David Witts - EastEnders


What's Hot