Twitter has announced it will roll out the ability to mute annoying people you follow.
The new feature allows you to block out irritating or repetitive accounts for short or extended periods, without having to go through the social awkwardness of actually unfollowing someone.
The feature brings Twitter and Facebook closer yet again - "mute" is already available on Facebook.
Twitter said that "mute gives you even more control over the content you see".
In the same way you can turn on device notifications so you never miss a Tweet from your favorite users, you can now mute users you’d like to hear from less. Muting a user on Twitter means their Tweets and Retweets will no longer be visible in your home timeline, and you will no longer receive push or SMS notifications from that user. The muted user will still be able to fave, reply to, and retweet your Tweets; you just won’t see any of that activity in your timeline. The muted user will not know that you’ve muted them, and of course you can unmute at any time.
Twitter said it would be rolling the feature out gradually, but that it will be available to all users in a few weeks.