There Are 250 New Emoji. This Is How To Get Them.

Everyone's favourite modern hieroglyphic alphabet, emoji, has received another boost.

Exactly 250 new emoji have been introduced as part of a new upgrade to Unicode.

Unicode is an industry standard technology which ensures text is displayed the same way across devices and the internet.

With the new update, 250 new emoji images will form part of our cultural alphabet, ready for adoption by teenagers, advertisers and weird graphic novel writers across the globe.

As ever, while Unicode decides on the rough images to be included, its up to individual device and keyboard makers to come up with fonts that support them. As such, there is only one way to get these new emoji first -- wait.

Indeed, all we have so far are the descriptions, which are fairly enigmatic.

Here are some of our favourite potential new Emoji, as per the official list:

  • Beamed Ascending Musical Notes
  • Derelict House Building
  • Black Skull And Crossbones
  • No Piracy
  • Reversed Hand With Middle Finger Extended
  • Old Personal Computer
  • Envelope With Lightning
  • Bouquet Of Flowers

"Version 7.0 of the Unicode Standard is now available, adding 2,834 new characters. This latest version adds the new currency symbols for the Russian ruble and Azerbaijani manat, approximately 250 emoji (pictographic symbols), many other symbols, and 23 new lesser-used and historic scripts, as well as character additions to many existing scripts. These additions extend support for written languages of North America, China, India, other Asian countries, and Africa."

Popular in the Community