20/02/2015 05:27 GMT | Updated 20/05/2015 06:12 BST

New Dr Seuss Books To Be Published


Three new books by Dr Seuss – the children's author who wrote The Cat in the Hat and How the Grinch Stole Christmas – are to be published.

Random House Children's Books announced that the first book, 'What Pet Should I Get?, will be published on July 28 following the discovery of a set of manuscripts amongst the late author's belongings.

The new book captures the childhood experience of choosing a first pet, and features the same brother and sister characters that Dr Seuss – real name Theodor Geisel - introduced in 'One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish'.

The writer – who died in 1991 - has published 46 children's books, including the classics The Cat in the Hat (1957), How the Grinch Stole Christmas! (1957), Green Eggs and Ham (1960) and The Lorax (1971).

They've sold more than 650 million copies worldwide.

Story continues after the video

New Dr. Seuss Book Coming Out This Summer

The new materials were found by his widow Audrey Geisel, and his longtime secretary and friend, Claudia Prescott.

Random House associate publishing director Cathy Goldsmith said 'What Pet Should I Get?' was likely written between 1958 and 1962.

Audrey Geisel said in a statement: 'While undeniably special, it is not surprising to me that we found this because Ted always worked on multiple projects and started new things all the time - he was constantly writing and drawing and coming up with ideas for new stories.'

This year also marks the 25th anniversary of Geisel's final book, 'Oh, the Places You'll Go!'

But it won't be the first time his work has been published posthumously.

'The Bippolo Seed and Other Lost Stories' was published in 2011 and 'Horton and the Kwuggerbug and More Lost Stories' was in 2014.

Other posthumously published Dr Seuss titles have included Daisy-Head Mayzie (1995), My Many Colored Days (1996), and Hooray for Diffendoofer Day! (1998).