British Soap Awards 2016 Winners: ‘Emmerdale’ Triumphs As British Favourites Go Head To Head

But who else won on the night?

Soapland’s stars were out in force on Saturday (28 May) night, for the annual British Soap Awards - but who won on the night?

It was a closely-fought contest between the shows, who have each left viewers stunned on many occasions during the last 12 months, but it was ‘Emmerdale’ that triumphed, winning the highly-coveted Best Soap accolade, along with four other prizes.

<strong>Danny scooped two prizes </strong>
Danny scooped two prizes
Mike Marsland via Getty Images

Danny Miller scooped the Best Actor prize, following his success as Aaron Livesy, along with the Best Male Dramatic Performance Award.

Val’s ‘Emmerdale’ death scooped the Scene Of The Year prize, while the Tony Warren Award for off-screen achievement was scooped by casting director James Bain.

‘EastEnders’ also won five accolades, including Best Storyline for Stacey Branning’s post-partum psychosis, and ‘Coronation Street’ was just behind its rivals, with four awards, while ‘Hollyoaks’ and ‘Doctors’ each took one prize each.

See the full list of winners below...

Best British Soap: 'Emmerdale'

Best Actor: Danny Miller (Aaron Livesy, 'Emmerdale')

Best Actress: Lacey Turner (Stacey Branning, 'EastEnders')

Villain Of The Year: Connor McIntyre (Pat Phelan, 'Coronation Street')

Best Comedy Performance: Patti Clare (Mary Taylor, 'Coronation Street')

Best Newcomer: Bonnie Langford (Carmel Kazemi, 'EastEnders')

Best Storyline: Stacey's Post-partum psychosis ('EastEnders')

Best Single Episode: The Heart Of England ('Doctors')

Best Male Dramatic Performance: Danny Miller (Aaron Livesy, 'Emmerdale')

Best Female Dramatic Performance: Lacey Turner (Stacey Branning, 'EastEnders')

Best On-Screen Performance: Sally Dynevor and Joe Duttine (Sally Webster and Tim Metcalfe, 'Coronation Street')

Best Young Performance: Ruby O'Donnell (Peri Lomax, 'Hollyoaks')

Scene Of The Year: Val's Death ('Emmerdale')

Outstanding Achievement Award: Steve McFadden ('EastEnders')

The Tony Warren Award: James Bain, Casting Director ('Emmerdale' and 'Coronation Street'

Watch the British Soap Awards on ITV, at 8pm on Sunday 29 May.

Jennifer Metcalfe

British Soap Awards Red Carpet