These Are The Coronavirus Lockdown Rules In Your Area Of England

Here are the new rules of the three-tier lockdown system for England, and how they apply to every area.

Boris Johnson announced a new three-tier local lockdown system earlier in October in a bid to wrestle back control of coronavirus amid a surge in infections.

Each area in England has now been allocated a Covid alert level – medium, high or very high – and asked to follow rules that correspond to each level.

Confused about the rules and what applies in your area? We’ve got you covered.

Local Covid alert level: Medium

Existing national measures including the rule of six and 10pm curfew for hospitality venues to close.

This alert level applies to:

England - all areas, excluding those listed below

Local Covid alert level: High

Existing national measures plus:

A ban on households and support bubbles mixing indoors.

People can meet outside in groups no bigger than six, including in gardens or other outdoor space.

People should aim to reduce the number of journeys they make where possible. They should walk or cycle where possible or plan ahead to avoid busy times on public transport.

The “high” tier applies to:


  • Slough


  • Cheshire East
  • Cheshire West and Chester


  • Barrow-in-Furness


  • Chesterfield
  • Erewash
  • High Peak ‒ the wards of:
    • Tintwistle
    • Padfield
    • Dinting
    • St John’s
    • Old Glossop
    • Whitfield
    • Simmondley
    • Gamesley
    • Howard Town
    • Hadfield South
    • Hadfield North
  • North East Derbyshire


  • Durham


  • Basildon
  • Braintree
  • Brentwood
  • Castle Point
  • Chelmsford
  • Colchester
  • Epping Forest
  • Harlow
  • Maldon
  • Rochford
  • Tendring
  • Uttlesford


  • Leicester
  • Oadby and Wigston


  • All 32 boroughs plus the City of London


  • Northumberland

North Yorkshire

  • York


  • Stoke-on-Trent


  • Elmbridge

Tees Valley

  • Darlington
  • Hartlepool
  • Middlesbrough
  • Redcar and Cleveland
  • Stockton-on-Tees

Tyne and Wear

  • Gateshead
  • Newcastle
  • North Tyneside
  • South Tyneside
  • Sunderland

West Midlands

  • Birmingham
  • Coventry
  • Sandwell
  • Solihull
  • Walsall
  • Wolverhampton

West Yorkshire

The following areas are currently in tier 2, but will move into tier 3 on Monday, November 2.

  • Bradford
  • Calderdale
  • Kirklees
  • Leeds
  • Wakefield

Local Covid alert level: Very High

Households and support bubbles are banned from mixing indoors or outdoors, except in open public spaces like parks and beaches, where the rule of six will apply.

The closure of pubs and bars unless they serve substantial meals, like lunch or dinner. Alcohol can only be served as part of a meal.

Wedding receptions are banned.

Households and support bubbles are banned from mixing indoors or outdoors, except in open public spaces like parks and beaches, where the rule of six will apply.

People are advised not to travel out of their local area, or to travel into a “very high” area from outside. Overnight stays should be avoided.

Ministers can work with local leaders to decide if more closures are required – for example, of all pubs, gyms or casinos.

This applies to:


  • Warrington

Greater Manchester

  • Bolton
  • Bury
  • Manchester
  • Oldham
  • Rochdale
  • Salford
  • Stockport
  • Tameside
  • Trafford
  • Wigan


  • Blackburn with Darwen
  • Blackpool
  • Burnley
  • Chorley
  • Fylde
  • Hyndburn
  • Lancaster
  • Pendle
  • Preston
  • Ribble Valley
  • Rossendale
  • South Ribble
  • West Lancashire
  • Wyre

Liverpool City Region

  • Halton
  • Knowsley
  • Liverpool
  • Sefton
  • St Helens
  • Wirral


  • Ashfield
  • Bassetlaw
  • Broxtowe
  • Gedling
  • Mansfield
  • Newark & Sherwood
  • Nottingham City
  • Rushcliffe

South Yorkshire

  • Barnsley
  • Doncaster
  • Rotherham
  • Sheffield

Editor’s note: The government’s initial list of areas, reproduced here, at first listed “Lancashire” twice instead of mentioning Lancaster by name. This has now been corrected.


What's Hot