01/12/2016 17:06 GMT

New £5 Notes Caused Row With Revelation They Contain Tallow - But Do You Know Which Of These Are Also Not Vegan?

Some of these will seriously surprise you.

It came to light this week that the new polymer £5 note contains tallow, a rendered form of beef or mutton fat, sometimes used in the production of items including soap and candles.

The Bank of England has said its supplier is working on “potential solutions” after more than 100,000 people signed a petition calling on them to remove the animal fat from the notes.

Stefan Wermuth/PA Wire
It turns out the new polymer £5 note isn't vegan

The revelation left many vegans and vegetarians horrified and also prompted concern among faith groups who have rules against consuming or using beef in manufacturing processes.

But it’s not just our bank notes which contain ingredients that mean they aren’t vegan.

Take our quiz to find out how much you know about where animal products actually appear...