13/12/2017 20:29 GMT | Updated 14/12/2017 11:10 GMT

EU Withdrawal Bill: The 11 'Tory Rebels' Who Voted Against Theresa May On Brexit

These Conservatives want a 'meaningful' vote on EU exit deal.

Twelve Tory MPs have received plaudits from across the political divide for voting against the Government in order to put into law that MPs would get a meaningful vote on the Brexit deal agreed with Brussels.

Just 305 MPs sided with the Government, giving the rebels victory and with it, Theresa May’s first Parliamentary defeat as Prime Minister.

Some 12 MPs from her party voted for the amendment to the EU Withdrawal Bill - only 11 are technically rebels as John Stevenson voted both ‘aye’ and no’. 

And as soon as the result was announced, the recriminations began - Stephen Hammond was sacked as vice chair of the Conservative Party.

The 11 Tories Who Voted Against Theresa May To Give MPs A Meaningful Vote On Brexit 

  • Dominic Grieve, MP for Beaconsfield
    Empics Entertainment
  • Ken Clarke MP for Rushcliffe
    PA Wire/PA Images
  • Nicky Morgan, MP for Loughborough
    PA Archive/PA Images
  • Bob Neill, MP for Bromley and Chislehurst
    PA Archive/PA Images
  • Stephen Hammond, MP for Wimbledon, Raynes Park, Morden and Motspur Park
    PA Archive/PA Images
  • Oliver Heald, MP for North East Hertfordshire
    Yui Mok - PA Images via Getty Images
  • Anna Soubry, MP for Broxtowe in Nottinghamshire
    PA Wire/PA Images
  • Sarah Wollaston, MP for Totnes
    PA Archive/PA Images
  • Jonathan Djanogly, MP for Huntingdon
    Dave Thompson - PA Images via Getty Images
  • Antoinette Sandbach, MP for Eddisbury
    PA Archive/PA Images
  • Heidi Allen, MP for South Cambridgeshire
    PA Wire/PA Images