TECH

Facebook To Automatically Warn Parents Before They Share Family Pictures With The Public

13/11/2015 12:27 GMT | Updated 13/11/2015 12:59 GMT

Facebook will automatically warn parents if and when they are about to share family pictures with the general public.

The alerts will pop up, for example, if parents are about to publish images of the kids while the post is set to 'Public' mode.

Facebook’s vice president of engineering, Jay Parikh, made the comments last night at a media event in London.

facebook

According to the Evening Standard, Parikh said: "If I were to upload a photo of my kids playing at the park and I accidentally had it shared with the public, this system could say: ‘Hey wait a minute, this is a photo of your kids, normally you post this to just your family members, are you sure you want to do this?’

“I think (it’s) a nice intelligent way for us to help you manage all of the data and the information around you, and that could be just helping you process this stuff and getting it right the first time.”

SEE ALSO:

He also explained how artificial intelligence and deep learning could help the social media platform remove "objectionable content" more quickly in the future.

"There’s ways to keep Facebook safe, so if there’s objectionable content we can find that stuff using these very intelligent systems so that we can weed out this objectionable content faster.”

In October, Facebook announced plans to notify users if and when the Government is spying on their accounts.

Chief Security Officer at Facebook, Alex Stamos, wrote in a blog: "...we will notify you if we believe your account has been targeted or compromised by an attacker suspected of working on behalf of a nation-state,"