08/08/2012 11:34 BST | Updated 09/08/2012 05:19 BST

London 2012 Victory Parade Planned For Olympic Athletes

Bedecked in gold, silver and bronze, Team GB's Olympic heroes will be part of a victory parade through central London to honour the athletes' record-breaking London 2012 achievements.

All Olympic and Paralympic athletes will take part in the celebration on September 10, organised by the British Olympic Association.

The route has not been finalised, but it is thought the athletes will travel on open-topped buses, via Trafalgar Square, where thousands celebrated London being awarded the 2012 Games by the Olympic Committee in 2007.

Confetti rains down on the crowd as part of the Team GB victory parade after the Beijing Olympics 2008

The final destination of the buses is believed to be Buckingham Palace, and Mayor of London Boris Johnson, Prime Minister David Cameron and the Queen could all be taking part in the event.

A spokesman for the BOA said they were "working with the Mayor's office, Transport for London, the park authorities and various boroughs."

Britain has won 22 golds and 47 medals in total, the best haul since 1908.

Many of the athletes' hometowns have also planned raucous welcomes for their Olympians - who will be showered with city honours.

Double bronze medal-winner Rebecca Adlington's home town of Mansfield is planning a celebration for the swimmer, along with badminton player Chris Adcock.

Otley is also planning a parade through the town centre for Olympic silver medal cyclist Lizzie Armitstead, followed by a civic reception.

Sheffield is also planning a celebration of gold medal heptathlete Jessica Ennis, and suggestions have included renaming one of the city's squares, erecting statues in her honour and giving her the freedom of the city.

In 2008, the Beijing Olympic athletes took part in a parade from Mansion House to Trafalgar Square, before meeting the Queen at Buckingham Palace.

Many who paraded through London after Beijing have returned to glory in London four years later, including Adlington, rowers Mark Hunter and Zac Purchase and cyclists Sir Chris Hoy and Victoria Pendleton.