NTAs 2015 Nominations: ‘EastEnders' Lead National Television Awards Shortlist, Simon Cowell, Benedict Cumberbatch And 'Cilla' Also Feature (FULL LIST)

The National Television Award nominations have been announced, ahead of the NTAs ceremony, which takes place later this month.

‘EastEnders’ leads the way with four nominations - largely thanks to the Carter family - with Kellie Bright and Danny Dyer both scoring nods in the Serial Drama Performance category, while Maddy Hill nabs a nomination for Best Newcomer.

Kellie Bright and Danny Dyer's on-screen family have been a huge hit

The soap will also go up against ‘Coronation Street’, ‘Emmerdale’ and ‘Hollyoaks’ in the battle for the Serial Drama award.

Meanwhile, the TV Judge category pits ‘X Factor’ panelists Simon Cowell and Cheryl Fernandez-Versini against ‘Great British Bake Off’ star Mary Berry, and David Walliams, who stars on the ‘Britain’s Got Talent’ panel.

‘Cilla’, ‘Doctor Who’, ‘Downton Abbey’ and ‘Sherlock’ are fighting it out for the Best Drama accolade and the Best Drama Performance category is also sure to be a tough-fought contest, as Benedict Cumberbatch, Sarah Lancashire, Dame Maggie Smith and Sheridan Smith are all nominated.

Benedict Cumberbatch as Sherlock

One important thing to remember is that the NTA winners are decided purely on the public vote and TV fans have until Wednesday 21 January to have their say here.

The award ceremony will take place on the 21 January, at London’s O2 Arena. See the full list of nominations below:

Chat Show Host

Alan Carr

Michael McIntyre

Graham Norton

Paul O’Grady

Jonathan Ross



‘Mrs Brown’s Boys’


‘The Big Bang Theory’



‘The Chase’

‘The Jeremy Kyle Show’

‘This Morning’

Drama Performance

Benedict Cumberbatch (Sherlock Holmes in ‘Sherlock’)

Sarah Lancashire (Sgt Catherine Cawood in ‘Happy Valley’)

Dame Maggie Smith (Violet, Dowager Countess in ‘Downton Abbey’)

Sheridan Smith (Cilla Black in ‘Cilla’)



‘Doctor Who’

‘Downton Abbey’


Entertainment Presenter

Ant and Dec

Keith Lemon

Dermot O’Leary

Bradley Walsh

Entertainment Programme

‘Ant and Dec’s Saturday Night Takeaway’

‘Celebrity Big Brother’

‘I’m a Celebrity… Get Me Out of Here!’

‘Through The Keyhole’



‘Long Lost Family’

‘Paul O’Grady: For the Love of Dogs’

‘Top Gear’


‘Celebrity Juice’

‘Game of Thrones’

‘Geordie Shore’

‘The Walking Dead’


Maddy Hill (Nancy Carter in ‘Eastenders’)

Lee Mead (Ben “Lofty” Chiltern in ‘Casualty’)

Cameron Moore (Cameron Campbell in ‘Hollyoaks’)

Michael Parr (Ross Barton in ‘Emmerdale’)

Talent Show

‘Britain’s Got Talent’

‘Strictly Come Dancing’

‘The Voice UK’

‘The X Factor’

Skills Challenge Show

‘Come Dine With Me’


‘The Apprentice’

‘The Great British Bake Off’

Serial Drama

‘Coronation Street’




TV Judge

Mary Berry

Simon Cowell

Cheryl Fernandez-Versini

David Walliams

Serial Drama Performance

Kellie Bright (Linda Carter in ‘EastEnders’)

Danny Dyer (Mick Carter in ‘EastEnders’)

Verity Rushworth (Donna Windsor in ‘Emmerdale’)

Nikki Sanderson (Maxine Minniver in ‘Hollyoaks’)

Helen Flanagan, Coronation Street

Soap Stars: Where Are They Now?