BREAKING: Ramaphosa Reshuffles Cabinet

It has taken just more than a week, but President Cyril Ramaphosa has made 23 changes to Cabinet.

President Cyril Ramaphosa has reshuffled his Cabinet. He said he needed to balance stability and continuity with renewal and economic recovery. David Mabuza will be deputy president.



Fellow South Africans,

I have decided to make certain changes in the composition of the National Executive.

These changes are intended to ensure that national government is better equipped to implement the mandate of this administration and specifically the tasks identified in the State of the Nation Address.

In making these changes, I have been conscious of the need to balance continuity and stability with the need for renewal, economic recovery and accelerated transformation.

As indicated in the State of the Nation Address, we have begun a review of the configuration, size and number of national Ministries and Departments.

We will retain the existing Ministries and Departments until that review is completed.

With respect to Ministers, I have decided to make the following changes:

- Communications: Ms Nomvula Mokonyane

- Energy: Mr Jeff Radebe

- Higher Education and Training: Ms Naledi Pandor

- Home Affairs: Mr Malusi Gigaba

- Human Settlements: Ms Nomaindia Mfeketo

- International Relations and Cooperation: Ms Lindiwe Sisulu

- Mineral Resources: Mr Gwede Mantashe

- Police: Mr Bheki Cele

- Public Enterprises: Mr Pravin Gordhan

- Public Service and Administration: Ms Ayanda Dlodlo

- Public Works: Mr Thulas Nxesi

- Rural Development and Land Reform: Ms Maite Nkoana-Mashabane

- Science and Technology: Ms Nkhensani Kubayi-Ngubane

- Social Development: Ms Susan Shabangu

- Sport and Recreation: Ms Tokozile Xasa

- State Security: Ms Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba

- The Presidency: Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation: Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma

- The Presidency: Women: Ms Bathabile Dlamini

- Tourism: Mr Derek Hanekom

- Transport: Dr Blade Nzimande

- Water and Sanitation: Mr Gugile Nkwinti

With respect to Deputy Ministers, I have made the following changes:

- Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries: Mr Sfiso Buthelezi

- Communications: Ms Pinky Kekana

- Finance: Mr Mondli Gungubele

- Public Service and Administration: Dr Chana Pilane-Majeke

- Small Business Development: Mr Cassel Mathale

The positions of Deputy Minister of Public Enterprises and Deputy Minister in the Presidency for Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation will remain vacant.

Pending the completion of their swearing-in as Members of the National Assembly, I intend to further appoint:

- Mr David Mabuza as the Deputy President of the Republic

- Dr Zweli Mkhize as Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs

- Mr Nhlanhla Nene as Minister of Finance

- Ms Reginah Mhaule as Deputy Minister of International Relations and Cooperation

The new Ministers and Deputy Ministers will be sworn in in Cape Town tomorrow.

I wish to express my appreciation to all outgoing Ministers and Deputy Ministers for their service to government and to the people of South Africa.

I thank you for your attention.

Good evening.



The African National Congress (ANC) notes and welcomes the changes to the National Executive of the Republic of South Africa announced today by the President, Comrade Cyril Ramaphosa. President Ramaphosa, exercised his constitutional responsibilities, in line with Section 91 of the constitution to appoint the Deputy President, Ministers and Deputy Ministers.

As the ANC, we particularly commend the President for having exercised this prerogative in consultation with the National Officials of the ANC and our Alliance Partners. Undoubtedly, this act of giving due regard to the resolutions of the African National Congress, in the exercise of the prerogative bestowed upon the President, lays a strong foundation for greater alignment and cooperation between the ANC and its cadres deployed in government.

The ANC congratulates Deputy President-elect Comrade David Mabuza as well as all comrades appointed and intended to be appointed Ministers and Deputy Ministers. We assure them of the organisation's support in the execution of their duties.

We extend our gratitude to all comrades who served in the immediate past Cabinet and are confident that they and their skills are not lost to the ANC. The ANC is confident that, as disciplined members of the organization, they will continue to serve the movement and the people of South Africa in whatever capacity they are deployed.



EFF leader Julius Malema says Nomvula Mokonyane is staying in Cabinet and possibly being moved to the department of communications. But she's all but crippled and destroyed the department of water and sanitation. Check out ace City Press reporter Sipho Masondo run the rule over Mokonyane here.



EFF leader Julius Malema is normally not far from being off the mark. He tweeted that Malusi Gigaba (finance) and Nomvula Mokonyane (water and sanitation) are staying. Really?



Minister of Police Fikile Mbalula seemingly has let the cat out of the bag. He's changed his Twitter name to "ANC Elections Chair". It previously said "MinisterFear Fokkol". See for yourself:


Ramaphosa has been adamant that the ANC and government need to be punctual... so the postponement is not going down well in some quarters...



The ANC's new deputy president is a mysterious man, embroiled in countless allegations and controversies dating back almost 10 years. From millions of rands stashed in his home and having a private army, to being behind political assassinations in Mpumalanga – the cloud hanging over Mabuza's head is dark; very dark.

Read about Mabuza's ghosts here.



In a strategic powerplay, David Mabuza has been propelled to national significance but an analysis of his history will show that he wrote the playbook of political chicanery that Zuma deploys. He was elected deputy president of the ANC in December and has indicated that he will soon resign as premier of Mpumalanga.

But who is he? Read more here.



There are 35 ministers in Cabinet. HuffPost had a look at who deserves to get the boot – and maybe as many as 20, 25 ministers deserve to be dropped.

HuffPost's list is conservative – there are easily 10 more ministers that should pack up their executive offices before the state of the nation address. Ramaphosa will be itching for change, but he'll be wary of too much blood on the floor.

Check it out here.



President Cyril Ramaphosa will announce changes to his Cabinet at 20:30. UPDATE: A 1-hour delay has been announced

The announcement was made by the presidency at 19:30.


President Cyril Ramaphosa will announce changes to the National Executive at 8.30pm tonight [now delayed to 9.30pm], Monday 26 February 2018, in a statement to media at The Presidency, Union Buildings, Pretoria.

Media representatives with valid press cards are invited to attend the announcement in the Media Centre, Room 153, in the East Wing of the Union Buildings.

Media are advised that there will be no Q&A session after the announcement.