19/07/2017 13:32 BST | Updated 19/07/2017 13:35 BST

BBC Pay List For Off-Air Talent: Here's How Much The Beeb Is Paying

Where do we sign up?

The BBC has released details about how much its off-air top earners were paid over the last year.

As a row battles on about the gender pay gap between the Beeb’s on-air stars, the corporation has also revealed how much it pays those who work behind the scenes - from writers to directors. 

Here are the top earners in descending order... 

PA Wire/PA Images
Director-General of the BBC Tony Hall is paid between £400,000 and £499,999 each year 


£450,000 - £499,999 

Tony Hall, director-general 


Executive Committee 

£400,000 - £449,999 

Anne Bulford, deputy director-general 

£300,000 - £349,999 

James Harding, director - news and current affairs 

Valerie Hughes-D’Aeth, group HR director 

Mark Linsey, director - BBC studios 

Charlotte Moore, director - BBC content

Matthew Postgate, chief technology and product officer

£250,000 - £299,999 

James Purnell, director - radio and education 

£200,000 - £249,999 

Ken MacQuarrie, director - nations and regions 

Corporate functions 

£300,000 - £349,999 

Bal Samra, commercial director 

£200,000 - £249,999

Joe Godwin, director - BBC Academy 

Ian Haythornwaite, director - finance 

Sarah Jones, group general counsel 

£150,000 - £199,999 

Shirley Cameron, group financial controller 

Rachel Currie, HR director, content, radio and education 

Pipa Doubtfire, head of revenue management 

Peter Farrell, head of legal

James Heath, director - policy and charter 

David Jordan, director - editorial policy and standards 

Gautam Rangarjan, director - strategy

Peter Ranyard, assistant general counsel 

John Shield, director - communications 

Charlie Villar, director - corporate finance 


Design and engineering 

£150,000 - £199,999

Jatin Aythora, chief architect

Andy Baker, director - engineering operations

Colin Burns, chief design officer

Kieran Clifton, director - distribution and business development

Chris Condron, director - product and systems

Andy Conroy, controller - research and development

Richard Cooper, controller - digital distribution

Mike Ford, programme director

Sarah Hayes, director - BBC archives

Stuart Page, director - product and systems

Neelay Patel, director - product and systems TV

Gary Payne, chief information security officer

Robin Pembroke, director - product and services

Andrew Scott, launch director - MyBBC  


Marketing and audiences

£200,000 - £249,999

Philip Almond, director - marketing and audiences

£150,000 - £199,999

Justin Bairamian, director - marketing and audiences creative

Charlotte Lock - director - marketing and audiences, content, radio and education

Nick North, director - audiences

Cary Wakefield, director - marketing and audiences, television


Nations and regions 

£150,00 - £199,999 

Peter Johnston, director - Northern Ireland

Donalda MacKinnon, director - BBC Scotland 

Bruce Malcolm, head of service development - BBC Scotland 

Rhodri Talfan Davies, director - BBC Wales 



£200,000 - £249,999 

Shane Allen, controller - comedy commissioning 

Damian Kavanagh, controller - BBC Three 

Barbara Slater, director - BBC Sport 

£150,000 - £199,999  

Christopher Aird, commissioning director - drama 

Philip Bernie, head of TV sport 

Helen Blenkinsop, head of network supply 

Richard Dawkins, chief operating officer 

Cassian Harrison, channel editor - BBC Four 

Patrick Holland, channel editor - BBC Two 

Elizabeth Kilgarriff, commissioning editor - drama 

Alison Kirkham, controller - factual commissioning 

Sonia Magris, finance director - content 

Tom McDonald, head of commissioning - factual 

Dan McGolpin, controller - BBC daytime and portfolio planning 

Lucy Richer, commissioning editor - drama  



£200,000 - £249,999 

Nicholas Betts, director - scripted production 

Anna Mallett, chief operating officer 

Stephen McCrum, executive producer - comedy 

Michael Mosley, executive producer 

Lisa Opie, director - factual production  

£150,000 - £199,999 

Samantha Anstiss, creative director 

Sam Bickley, creative director

Andrew Cohen, head of science factual production 

Mark Cooper, head of TV music 

Tessa Finch, head of development television - content 

Mark Hedgecoe, head of factual - Scotland£

Roger Leatham, director - entertainment, music

Brian Minchin, executive producer - drama

Sean O’Connor, executive producer - drama

Damon Pattison, head of development

Clare Pizey, executive producer - Top Gear and charity events  

Hilary Salmon, head of drama - England 

Jabbar Sardar, HR director - BBC studios 

Chris Sussman, head of comedy  


News and current affairs 

£200,000 - £249,999 

Francesca Unsworth, director - World Service Group 

£150,000 - £199,999 

Keith Blackmore, managing editor 

Fiona Campbell, controller - BBC News, mobile and online 

James Gray, deputy head of current affairs 

Dale Haddon, HR director - news 

Mary Hockaday, controller - World Service English 

David Holdsworth, controller - English regions 

Ian Katz, editor 

Jonathan Munro, head of newsgathering 

Adrian Van Klaveren, head of strategic change - World Service 


Radio and education 

£250,000 - £299,999 

Bob Shennan, director - radio and music 

£200,000 - £249,999 

Graham Ellis, controller - production 

£150,000 - £199,999 

Helen Bullough, head of CBBC production 

Jonty Claypole, director - arts 

Ben Cooper, controller - Radio 1 and 1Xtra 

Alan Davey, controller - Radio 3 

Mark Friend, controller - radio and music multiplatform

Cheryl Taylor, controller - CBBC 

Alice Webb, director - children’s 

Gwyneth Williams, controller - Radio 4 and Radio 4 Extra 


Former staff 

£350,000 - £399,999 

Helen Boaden, director - radio 

£150,000 - £199,999 

Aaqil Ahmed, head of religion and ethics 

Mark Harrison, director - digital transformation and delivery 

Natalie Humphreys, controller - factual and daytime production 

Emma Swan, director - future commissioning

Alex Towers, director - BBC Trust  


Specialist contractors and writers

£150,000 - £199,999 

Daryl Bramley, programme manager 

Colin Brown, identity architect 

Roy Clarke, writer 

Patrick Foody, analytics architect 

Claire Hetherington, IT programme manager 

James Hewines, technical project manager

Daran Little, writer 

Ruth Moreland, project manager 

Andy Pryor, casting director

Terence Reeves, service architect

Noel Scotford, programme manager

Richard Smith, integration lead