13/01/2020 07:09 GMT | Updated 13/01/2020 08:40 GMT

How Does The Labour Leadership Contest Work?

Keir Starmer, Rebecca Long Bailey, Lisa Nandy, Jess Phillips, Emily Thornberry and Clive Lewis are all battling to replace Jeremy Corbyn as Labour Party leader.

Jeremy Corbyn’s potential successors as Labour Party leader have until 2.30pm on Monday to secure the combined support of 22 MPs and MEPs if they want to make it to the next round.

As of the time of publication, this is how the six contenders are doing: 

The candidates

Keir Starmer - 68 nominations

Rebecca Long Bailey - 26 nominations 

Lisa Nandy - 26 nominations 

Jess Phillips - 22 nominations 

Emily Thornberry - 10 nominations

Clive Lewis - 4 nominations 

The candidates who reach the magic number of 22 will then go forward to the second stage.

They must get the nominations of 5% of all constituency Labour parties or three Labour affiliates – of which at least two must be trade unions – comprising at least 5% of the fully paid-up affiliate membership.

The freeze date for new members to join and be eligible to vote is January 20.

People will also be able to join as a registered supporter for a fee of £25 provided they are on the electoral register and meet the membership qualification criteria of membership of the party.

Applications to become a registered supporter open at 5pm on January 14 and close at 5pm on January 16.

The second stage of nominations from constituency parties and affiliates then opens on January 15 and runs to February 14.

The ballot of members and registered supporters opens the following week on February 21, closing at midday on Thursday April 2.

PA Wire/PA Images
Top, left to right: Lisa Nandy, Jess Phillips, Keir Starmer, (bottom, left to right) Rebecca Long-Bailey, Clive Lewis and Emily Thornbury, the six Labour Party MPs that are running in the leadership election.


Saturday 18 January: Liverpool

Saturday 25 January: Durham

Saturday 1 February: Bristol

Sunday 2 February: Cardiff

Sunday 9 February: Birmingham

Saturday 15 February: Glasgow

Sunday 16 February: London

The result will be announced on April 4 at a special conference in London.