11/06/2017 15:52 BST | Updated 12/06/2017 17:15 BST

Cabinet Reshuffle: Michael Gove Makes A Sensational Return To The Cabinet

The former leadership contender is back from the cold.

Michael Gove is back in the Cabinet as Theresa May reshuffles her top team.

The former Justice Secretary was sacked by May when she became Prime Minister last year, and it seemed his frontline career was over while she remained in Downing Street.

Yet during May’s increasingly wobbly General Election campaign, Gove was frequently on television defending the Prime Minister, and it seems his actions have been rewarded.

Gove is now Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Secretary, with fellow Brexiteer - and one-time Tory leadership contender - Andrea Leadsom moved to Leader of the Commons. 

The reshuffle began on Sunday afternoon, but there were very few changes to May’s Cabinet.

PA Wire/PA Images
Liz Truss was demoted from Justice Secretary

Liz Truss was demoted from Justice Secretary to Chief Secretary to the Treasury, and although she will still attend Cabinet, she no longer has a department to run. 

David Lidington will take over from Truss as Justice Secretary, having been promoted from Leader of the Commons.

May’s long-term ally Damian Green has been appointed Cabinet Office Minister, after previous holder Ben Gummer lost his seat last week, and will also serve as first Secretary of State - meaning he deputises for the Prime Minister when she is out of the country.

Former Chief Secretary to the Treasury David Gauke replaces Green as Work and Pensions Secretary.

While some have been moved, Jeremy Hunt remains as Health Secretary, Greg Clark will remain as Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Secretary, and Liam Fox will stay as International Trade Secretary.

PA Wire/PA Images
Damian Green is now Cabinet Office Minister.

Education Secretary Justine Greening also keeps her job, despite reportedly being unhappy with May’s plan to introduce a new generation of grammar schools.

She will also stay as Minister for Women and Equalities.

Other non-movers include Sajid Javid, who stays as Communities and Local Government Secretary, Wales Secretary Alun Cairns and Transport Secretary Chris Grayling.

Gavin Williamson stays as Chief Whip, meaning he has the huge task of trying to maintain discipline in the party as May tries to get her legislation through Parliament.

Ahead of the election result, it was expected that May would demote a number of her senior colleagues, including Chancellor Philip Hammond.

Yet her room for manoeuvre was greatly reduced by the election result and on Friday May confirmed Hammond, Foreign Secretary Boris Johnson, Home Secretary Amber Rudd, Brexit Secretary David Davis and Defence Secretary Sir Michael Fallon would stay in their posts.

Theresa May’s Cabinet – bold shows changes

Prime Minister – Theresa May

Chancellor of the Exchequer – Philip Hammond

Foreign Secretary – Boris Johnson

Home Secretary – Amber Rudd

Brexit Secretary – David Davies

Defence Secretary – Sir Michael Fallon

Education Secretary – Justine Greening

Work and Pensions Secretary – David Gauke

Justice Secretary – David Lidington

International Trade Secretary – Liam Fox

Business, Energy and Industrial Secretary – Greg Clark

Health Secretary – Jeremy Hunt

Transport Secretary – Chris Grayling

Communities and Local Government Secretary – Sajid Javid

Leader of the House of Commons – Andrea Leadsom

Scotland Secretary –

Wales Secretary – Alun Cairns

Northern Ireland Secretary – James Brokenshire

Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Secretary – Michael Gove

International Development Secretary – Priti Patel

Culture, Media and Sport Secretary – Karen Bradley

Cabinet Office Minister – Damian Green

Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster – Patrick McLoughlin

Leader of the House of Lords - Baroness Evans 


Also attends Cabinet:

Chief Secretary to the Treasury – Liz Truss

Attorney General – Jeremy Wright

Chief Whip – Gavin Williamson

Home Office Minister - Brandon Lewis