13/01/2020 14:22 GMT | Updated 13/01/2020 15:27 GMT

Labour Leadership: Emily Thornberry Through To Next Stage Of Contest

Jeremy Corbyn's successor will be Keir Starmer, Rebecca Long-Bailey, Lisa Nandy, Jess Phillips or Thornberry.

Emily Thornberry has made it though to the next stage of the Labour leadership contest, after securing the 22 MP and MEP nominations needed to make it through to the next round at the last minute.

The candidates to succeed Jeremy Corbyn had until 2.30pm on Monday to reach the threshold.

It means the battle to become leader will be between Keir Starmer, Rebecca Long-Bailey, Lisa Nandy, Jess Phillips and Thornberry.


Rebecca Long-Bailey: 33

Lisa Nandy: 31

Jess Phillips: 23

Keir Starmer: 89

Emily Thornberry: 23

Clive Lewis, the shadow Treasury minister, pulled out of the contest shortly before the deadline this afternoon having accepted he would not receive the required number of nominations.

In the race for deputy party leader, leftwinger Richard Burgon also managed to scrape into the next round shortly before the deadline.

He joins favourite Angela Rayner, Rosena Allin Khan, Dawn Butler and Ian Murray.

The leadership candidates must now get the nominations of 5% of all constituency Labour parties or three Labour affiliates – of which at least two must be trade unions – comprising at least 5% of the fully paid-up affiliate membership.

The freeze date for new members to join and be eligible to vote is January 20.


People will also be able to join as a registered supporter for a fee of £25 provided they are on the electoral register and meet the qualification criteria for membership of the party.

Applications to become a registered supporter open at 5pm on January 14 and close at 5pm on January 16.

The second stage of nominations from constituency parties and affiliates then opens on January 15 and runs to February 14.

The ballot of members and registered supporters opens the following week on February 21, closing at midday on April 2.

The result will be announced on April 4 at a special conference in London.