08/05/2018 21:13 BST | Updated 08/05/2018 22:26 BST

These Are The 83 Labour Peers Who Defied Jeremy Corbyn On Brexit

Will the Labour leader shift his single market position?

PA Wire/PA Images

Theresa May suffered another serious blow in her Brexit battle, as peers inflicted four embarrassing defeats on the government in a single day. 

But the PM isn’t the only party leader dealing with trouble in the ranks, as a crunch Lords vote on the government’s beleaguered EU Withdrawal bill revealed. 

A total of 83 Labour peers voted for an amendment tabled by Lord Alli which would see the UK remain part of the European Economic Area - and effectively the single market. 

The party’s frontbench abstained, toeing the line with Jeremy Corbyn’s position as leader, but a heavy lobbying campaign by pro-Europe groups saw scores of backbenchers break away to defeat the government regardless.

Former Labour leader Neil Kinnock pointed out that MPs were whipped to vote in favour of an amendment in line with the one proposed by Lord Alli back in December.

He argued that remaining part of the EEA was the best way to avoid a “cliff-edge of huge and costly disruption” to the UK economy.

A total of 50 crossbench peers, 17 Conservatives and 84 Lib Dems backed the Labour rebels, in what MP Chuka Umunna described as a “stunning victory”.

“Now it will be for the Commons to decide,” he added.

“I hope that the Labour front bench will support UK membership of the single market through the EEA, which is what the overwhelming majority of our members and voters want.”

Jeremy Corbyn has said he wants to negotiate a “new, strong relationship” with the single market when the UK leaves the EU in March next year.

The full list of Labour peers who voted for the EEA amendment:

Adams of Craigielea, Baroness 
Adonis, Lord 
Alli, Lord 
Anderson of Swansea, Lord 
Andrews, Baroness 
Armstrong of Hill Top, Baroness 
Bach, Lord 
Bakewell, Baroness 
Berkeley, Lord 
Bradley, Lord 
Bragg, Lord 
Brennan, Lord 
Brooke of Alverthorpe, Lord 
Browne of Ladyton, Lord 
Carter of Coles, Lord 
Cashman, Lord  
Chandos, Viscount 
Corston, Baroness 
Crawley, Baroness 
Cunningham of Felling, Lord 
Darzi of Denham, Lord  
Davies of Stamford, Lord 
Desai, Lord 
Drayson, Lord 
Dubs, Lord 
Elder, Lord 
Evans of Watford, Lord 
Faulkner of Worcester, Lord 
Foulkes of Cumnock, Lord 
Giddens, Lord 
Golding, Baroness 
Gordon of Strathblane, Lord 
Hain, Lord 
Hanworth, Viscount 
Haskel, Lord 
Haworth, Lord 
Henig, Baroness
Hunt of Chesterton, Lord 
Jay of Paddington, Baroness
Judd, Lord 
Kennedy of The Shaws, Baroness 
Kinnock of Holyhead, Baroness 
Kinnock, Lord 
Knight of Weymouth, Lord 
Lawrence of Clarendon, Baroness  
Layard, Lord 
Levy, Lord 
Liddell of Coatdyke, Baroness 
Liddle, Lord 
Lister of Burtersett, Baroness 
Livermore, Lord 
Mandelson, Lord 
Massey of Darwen, Baroness 
Maxton, Lord 
McDonagh, Baroness 
Mendelsohn, Lord 
Morgan of Huyton, Baroness 
Morgan, Lord 
Morris of Handsworth, Lord  
Morris of Yardley, Baroness
Nye, Baroness 
Pendry, Lord 
Pitkeathley, Baroness 
Puttnam, Lord 
Quin, Baroness 
Ramsay of Cartvale, Baroness 
Reid of Cardowan, Lord 
Rogers of Riverside, Lord 
Rooker, Lord 
Royall of Blaisdon, Baroness 
Sawyer, Lord 
Smith of Leigh, Lord 
Snape, Lord 
Soley, Lord 
Stone of Blackheath, Lord 
Tomlinson, Lord 
Triesman, Lord 
Turnberg, Lord 
Watts, Lord 
Whitaker, Baroness 
Woolmer of Leeds, Lord 
Young of Norwood Green, Lord  
Young of Old Scone, Baroness