27/01/2021 16:47 GMT | Updated 27/01/2021 17:57 GMT

Revealed: Full List Of High-Risk Countries That Mean Quarantine Hotel Stays

Border restriction aimed at returning Brits will stop new variants of coronavirus from taking hold, says the government.

Home secretary Priti Patel has announced that international arrivals from “high-risk” countries must now spend 10 days in a quarantine hotel. 

The move is aimed at avoiding new variants of Covid-19 reaching the UK, which this week saw its virus death toll exceed 100,000. 

Though strongly opposed by the under-pressure travel industry, critics of the government say Boris Johnson should have imposed stricter border rules months ago. 

Below is the list of countries the government has categorised as “red list” by the government. Travel for non-UK residents from these countries is already banned.

Everyone coming to the UK from these destinations will have to spend 10 days in a hotel, at their own cost:

  • Angola

  • Argentina

  • Bolivia

  • Botswana

  • Brazil

  • Cape Verde

  • Chile

  • Colombia

  • Democratic Republic of Congo

  • Ecuador

  • Eswatini

  • French Guiana

  • Guyana

  • Lesotho

  • Malawi

  • Mauritius

  • Mozambique

  • Namibia

  • Panama

  • Paraguay

  • Peru

  • Portugal (including Madeira and the Azores)

  • Seychelles

  • South Africa

  • Suriname

  • Tanzania

  • Uruguay

  • Venezuela

  • Zambia

  • Zimbabwe

This is a breaking news story and will be updated. Follow HuffPost UK on Twitter here, and on Facebook here.