Frances McDormand takes the lead in Chloé Zhao's latest offering, which earned the filmmaker a Best Director win at the Oscars.
The Nomadland director follows Kathryn Bigelow, who became the only female winner in the category in 2010 for The Hurt Locker.
Daniel Kaluuya and Emerald Fennell were among this year's British winners.