The 37 Political Casualties From The Lib Dems' 'Cruel Night', From Vince Cable To Jo Swinson

The Liberal Democrats were shocked with the exit poll which predicted they'd only retain 10 seats, but nothing could have prepared them for the carnage which involved the loss of a number key figures.

In fact, they kept only eight MPs, and Vince Cable, Jo Swinson and Simon Hughes all fell at the hurdle, with the Conservatives claiming many of the party's seats. As a result, Nick Clegg resigned the leadership.

Ed Davey

The Lib Dem's 'cruel night'